Research Guides: Psychology: Choosing & Understanding a Topic

Need Help?

Cook Library has experienced librarians and library assistants ready to help, no matter where you are!

chat loading...

Text message: 410-774-1398

Phone: 410-704-2462

You can also:

Choosing & Understanding a Topic

Psychology is a wide discipline with many areas to inspire your research. Getting started with your research can be challenging and intimidating. Using background resources, like encyclopedias, handbooks, or some other books and websites can show you different directions your research might take.

Databases & Lists of Sources

Psychology Very Short Introductions
This series of ebooks introduces you to a variety of Psychology topics. Browse the books to learn more.
Sage Knowledge: Psychology
Search full text reference encyclopedias in many areas of psychology.

Example Background Sources

APA Dictionary of Psychology
Look-up the meaning to over 25,000 Psychology terms

Psychology Basics by Nancy A. Piotrowski (Editor); Salem Press Staff
Collection of essay which address historical and contemporary issues, on topics ranging from psychological aspects of daily life to the varieties of abnormal behavior. Use information like the area of psychology, definitions, and lists of key concepts in each essay to understand or search for a topic.
Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories by Jon E. Roeckelein
Ebook containing approximately 2,000 terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts.
21st Century Psychology by William F. Buskist (Editor); Stephen F. Davis (Editor)
Highlights important topics, issues, questions, and debates that 21st century psychology students should learn throughout their coursework.

Ask a Librarian

Psychology

Need Help?

Choosing & Understanding a Topic

Databases & Lists of Sources

Example Background Sources