Skip to main content
Albert S. Cook Library

Dance

Listing of resources recommended for research in Dance.

Performing Arts Librarian

Lisa Woznicki's picture
Lisa Woznicki
chat loading...
Click on the bookmark icon below to go to Lisa's website & blog..
Contact:
Cook Library 407D
410-704-2498
Website / Blog Page

If you are starting your research, use the links on the left to locate the type of resource that you need.

The tabs at left contain categorized sources for you to use in exploring your research topics.  Under each category,  you will find a wide variety of resources for the study of dance.

Remember that online tools will require you to log in with your Net ID if you are accessing these from off campus.

If you don't find what you need, or if you have further questions about dance research, dancer silhouette
please don't hesitate to contact the Performing Arts Librarian, Lisa Woznicki.

Typical Research Tasks

Confused about how to start your research?  Take a look at these questions, match your assignment to those described below, and try the suggested sources.

Task: I need to find journal articles for my paper on dance therapy.
Strategy: Click on the Journal Articles tab and search in International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance, SportDiscus, Academic Search Complete, or one of the other indexing databases listed on this page.

Task: Where can I find biographical information on Martha Graham?
Strategy: Click on International Encyclopedia of Dance and other Electronic Encyclopedias and search under the dancer/choreographer name in: International Encyclopedia of Dance, Encyclopedia of World Ballet, or Biography in Context.

Task: I want to watch performances choreographed by Alvin Ailey and documentaries about his life and work.
Strategy: Click on Streaming Video Content and search by choreographer name in Films on Demand or VAST: Academic Video Online to stream a video right on your computer or your mobile device.

Task: I need to write about the Netherlands Dance Theater.
Strategy: Click on International Encyclopedia of Dance and other Electronic Encyclopedias and search by ensemble name in International Encyclopedia of Dance, or Encyclopedia of World Ballet.

Task: Where can I watch a filmed production of the ballet Sleeping Beauty?
Strategy: Click on Streaming Video Content and search by ballet title in Films on Demand or VAST: Academic Video Online to stream a video.

Completely new to dance research and not sure where to start?  Check out the Jumpstart Guide and take a look at suggested databases and other tools.