Research Guides: ENGL 102: Writing for a Liberal Education: Choosing a Topic

Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

410-704-5611

Subjects: English, Literature

Choosing a topic can be the hardest part of research. If your topic is too broad or too narrow, you'll have a hard time finding information.

To learn more about the topic selection phase of the research process, watch this video from the North Carolina State University Libraries.

Gathering background information can help you gain a better understanding or your topic and refine your research question.

Here are some resources you can use to find background information:

Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias provide background information on a variety of topics. Here are some encyclopedia databases available through Cook Library.

Cook OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find books, articles, media, government information, and other library resources all in one place. Search what Towson owns as well as resources at other USMAI Libraries.

Google Advanced Search
Make your Google search results better by using more than one box! Remember you can search specific site domains such as .org or .gov

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher, published by CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Press, reports a current social issue each week. Reports are approximately 20 pages long and provide background information, important points to consider, charts and graphs, and a source list for further reading. Database access limited to 10 simultaneous users.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Knowledge is a searchable collection of thousands of selected ebooks and over 60 encyclopedias and reference works covering many subjects, including Business and management, criminal justice, education, family studies, politics, and many others, and provides unlimited, site-wide use. Terms and Conditions.