Skip to Main Content
Albert S. Cook Library

ENGL 102: Writing for a Liberal Education

Need Help?

Cook Library has experienced librarians and library assistants ready to help, no matter where you are!

 

chat loading...

 

Text message: 410-774-1398

Phone: 410-704-2462

You can also:

Databases

A database is a discipline specific collection of information. They provide provide access to journal articles, books, primary sources, and more. The library purchases subscriptions to databases in order to support your research. 

Search Tips

Brainstorm Keywords

Before jumping into a database, it can be helpful to brainstorm a list of keywords that best represent the key concepts of your research question. The database uses your keywords to search the title, abstract, and subject terms of a source to identify which sources are relevant to your search.

To generate keywords...

  • Think of synonyms or similar phrases associated with the key concepts of your research topic
  • Browse a dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia
  • Look at how publications and authors refer to your topic
Combine Keywords

Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT) are used to combine or exclude keywords in a search and lead to results that are relevant to your research.

AND OR NOT

Use AND to narrow results 

Only sources with all search terms will appear in the results

Use OR to broaden results

Any of the search terms will appear in the results 

Use NOT to narrow results

exclude search terms from the results

Remember: Use each search box in a database to represent a "main concept" in your search.

Here's an example a search for information about the relationship between sleep and anxiety or depression in women.

Separate synonyms for a main concept with "OR." Leave the drop downs between search boxes on "AND"

Refine Results

Databases allow you to limit your results by source type, date, and more. For more about conducting a search and refining your results, watch Refine Database Search Results.

 

Find It

If you do not see a full text article link look for the Cook Library Find It button in order to:

  • Access online full text (when available)
  • See if the journal is available in print (library catalog)
  • Request a pdf of the article if full text is not available online (Interlibrary loan)
Save Your Articles

Don't forget to save the articles that are relevant to your research. Make note of the article authors, journal title, and article title, so you can be sure to find the article again. You will also need these pieces of information for a citation.

The permalink will always take you back to the article.

Subjects: English