The Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AAHSE) Campus Resource Hub contains research publications, case studies, course materials, videos, photographs, and other resources related to sustainability in higher education.
All Towson students, faculty, and staff may access AAHSE resources, but you must create an individual account in order to view the materials:
-Select the "Create an Account" link at the top right of the page.
-Enter your name and your Towson email address.
-In the Organization Information section, select the "I am affiliated with an organization" option. Type "Towson" into the dropdown menu and select "Towson University" when it appears.
This enormous collection of African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion.
The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
The AMAROC News was a daily American military newspaper that appeared in Coblenz from 1919 through 1923. The name of the newspaper is made up of the initials of the AMerican ARmy of OCcupation and is synonymous with the American occupation troops in the Rhineland after the World War I. The newspaper reached a circulation of up to 60,000 daily editions and was read by American soldiers and to a lesser extent by the civilian population, throughout the Rhineland occupation zone. For almost four years the newspaper brought American journalism to Germany.
American Military Camp Newspapers provides users with unparalleled access to unique sources covering the experiences of American soldiers during the mobilization period in 1916, in the trenches in 1918 and through the occupation of Germany in 1919.
American Military Camp Newspapers, Part II provides additional military camp newspapers – 11 new titles – that unlock the immediate past so that researchers can examine America and its people during a tumultuous era in our nation’s history.
Previously available as an image only collection, Part II has been upgraded to full-text. The full-text searchability will provide an unparalleled research experience for students and faculty who would otherwise be unable to access these materials formerly held in microform. Users will complement their coursework in many areas including American history, social history, political science, military history, and more.
These large county volumes have long formed the cornerstone of local historical and genealogical research. They are encyclopedic in scope and virtually limitless in their research possibilities.
These books include chapters with detailed coverage of local history, geology, geography, weather, transportation, lists of all local participants in the Revolutionary and Civil Wars, government, the medical and legal professions, churches and ministers, industry and manufacturing, banking and insurance, schools and teachers, noted celebrations, fire departments and associations, cemeteries, family histories, health and vital statistics, roads and bridges, public officials and legislators, and many additional subject areas.
Anatomy of Protest in America delivers a unique opportunity to investigate through newspaper articles and editorials and books the people, places, events, organizations, and ideas, so important to Americans that they took action, exercised their rights, and stood up to protest. From colonial exploitation and revolution to slavery and abolition, to political rights and suffrage, and economic and industrial disturbances, this series will guide the user through almost 225 years of American protest history in two convenient parts. As debates rage over the future of America and the country’s relationship to its past, there is no better time to examine the wealth of content in Anatomy of Protest in America.
From the early days of slavery to modern times, people of African descent have had a profound impact on American history. This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. The content in this database is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. It covers from the early 18th century to the early 21st –from pre-Revolution America to the modern era.
Pamphlets, picture books, and other propaganda issued during the early years of the People’s Republic between 1947 and 1954. This is the “street literature” of the revolution: comic books, leaflets, and other ephemera distributed to the general population of provincial cities and villages.
Coverage in relation to the Civil War is both informative and eclectic. In-depth articles discuss trade with foreign countries, and how their governments viewed the United States in light of the Civil War. There is information on specific industries of the time, such as the oyster trade in New York. Slavery is an important topic, and countless editorials discuss pre- and post-war attitudes from both sides, as well as troop movements during the war.
There is coverage of the Copperheads, Northerners sympathetic to the South, who advocated the violent overthrow of the governments of Indiana, Illinois, Kentucky, and Missouri in 1864. Events occurring in other states, such as Texas, are included. There is analysis of the trans-continental railroad and its effect on the region, and page after page of general news articles from around the world (the most humorous being the in-depth description of a 7 foot long, 3.5 ton piece of cheese on display at the Toronto Agricultural Fair in 1866). Letters from correspondents travelling with the Indiana troops (and all of the troops) describe their daily activities in detail. One issue is titled “Abraham Lincoln Death” issue, with the type in bold black.
The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, is a fundamental building block for political, social and economic research.
The series originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked ‘Confidential Print’ were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad.
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
The Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia, including books and journals, full-text dictionaries, bibliographies, images, maps, and statistical information from the colonial period through the present.
The Towson University Special Collections and University Archives department created these digital collections, which represent a portion of the material available in our holdings. Collections include complete runs of student newspapers, yearbooks, course catalogs, and historic university photographs. More items will be added as digitization efforts continue.
In these historic archives you may encounter words, images or other language used that were reflective of the tenor of our nation, and thus university, at that time in history. Those images may be disturbing and offensive, as they reflect the prejudice of the time. However, they do not reflect Towson University’s values and our commitment toward building a welcoming, diverse and inclusive campus that supports all the members of our community to thrive, regardless of their race, religion, ethnicity, gender identity, sexual orientation or levels of ableness.
Published in three parts, this collection makes available extensive coverage of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952.
Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945
Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952
Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930
Incorporating the Taishō to the Shōwa periods, these papers throw light on Anglo-Japanese ties in a time of shifting alliances. Documenting Japan’s journey to modernity, the files discuss a period in which the country took on an increasingly bold imperialist agenda. Strong relations following the signing of the Treaty of Versailles were tested then ultimately destroyed, and by December 1941, Japan and the United Kingdom were on opposing sides of the Second World War.
These Foreign Office files cover British concerns over colonial-held territory in the Far East, as well as Japanese relations with China, Russia, Germany and the United States. Following surrender at the end of the Second World War, Japan was occupied by foreign forces for the first time in its history. The occupation resulted in disarmament, liberalisation and a new constitution as the country was transformed into a parliamentary democracy. Japan emerged once again as a player on the world stage.
Consisting of diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, maps, summaries of events and diverse other material, this collection from the rich FO 371 and FO 262 series unites formerly restricted Japan-centric documents, and is enhanced by the addition of a selection of FO 371 Western and American Department and Far Eastern sub papers.
Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
Trends, statistics, and analysis for a wide range of U.S. industries. Market size, performance, and outlook; top companies; SWOT and industry structure (Porter’s Five Forces); supply chain; industry ratios. Search by keyword or NAICS code.
Over 43 million pages of legal and government documents from the U.S. and other jurisdictions. Law reports, statutes, treatises, court journals, and reports provide information on constitutional provisions, labor law, civil rights, immigration, trade, international relations, and other topics. Text searchable.
MIDAS, the Mexican Intelligence Digital Archives (los Archivos del Autoritarismo Mexicano), is a crowd-sourced, public access digital archive of historical documents from Mexican intelligence agencies. The collection is drawn from Mexico’s two principal security services, the Dirección Federal de Seguridad (DFS) and the Dirección General de Investigaciones Políticas y Sociales (DGIPS) and covers the period c.1940 to c.1985.
Available on the Drama Online platform, the Nick Hern Books Modern Plays collection includes over 625 plays from many of the UK and Ireland’s preeminent playwrights, as well as exciting new voices. It offers a wide and varied range of award-winning and widely studied plays, and is continually updated with new works fresh from leading theatres.
A collection of official gazettes and other key historical government documentation from countries where the integrity of the public record is known to be at risk. CRL is digitizing official gazettes from its extensive collection of print and microfilm, augmented by born-digital gazettes and related data harvested from the web.
U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty. Undergraduate and graduate schools use us in their curriculum and research related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others.
Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.
While the world continues efforts to distance itself from the ravages of COVID 19, this experience is not as unique as we may have previously believed. Deadly epidemics have been challenging the populace since the earliest settlers came to American shores. You can research and read first-hand accounts of American infectious diseases using Accessible Archives’ latest collection: Quarantine and Infectious Disease Control in America Series.
Reconstruction encompassed three major initiatives: restoration of the Union, transformation of Southern society, and enactment of progressive legislation favoring the rights of freed slaves. This collection provides representative pamphlets that highlight these initiatives.
This assortment of pamphlets was collected by the Department of State Library and comprises speeches, debates, political statements, legislative bills, and more. These pamphlets range in date from 1865 to 1869 and 1877. There are no materials pertaining to the 1870-1876 period.
Arabic nineteenth-century manuscripts relating to slavery and manumission in Timbuktu provide documentation on Africans in slavery in Muslim societies. From the Bibliothèque Commémorative Mama Haidara in Timbuktu, Mali.
Federally funded technical reports issued before 1975. Space exploration, alternative energy sources, nuclear reactors, mining, and water purification are among the topics in more than 20,000 documents summarizing engineering and regulatory investigations. Page images with searchable metadata.
The early women’s rights movement built upon the principles and experiences of other efforts to promote social justice and to improve the human condition. Collectively these efforts are known as reform. After the Civil War, many abolitionist activists joined the Temperance and Women’s Suffrage movements.
Susan B. Anthony, on more than one occasion, considered The Woman’s Tribune as the organ of the National Woman Suffrage Association, even though the Tribune was never formally affiliated with any national group. As the second-longest-running woman suffrage newspaper, it was significant for several reasons – unlike many other Suffrage newspapers, the Tribune was designed as a general circulation newspaper.
An unprecedented digital collection offering access to the runs of more than 100 publications from Archie Comics. It’s one of the longest-running, best-known comic staples, spanning the early 1940s to 2020. Alongside the flagship title, Archie, other prominent titles, which have pervaded wider popular culture, include Sabrina: The Teenage Witch, Josie and the Pussycats, Betty & Veronica, and Jughead.