Skip to Main Content
Albert S. Cook Library

Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...
Problems, questions, or suggestions about our databases? Use our e-resources feedback form.

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine is a subscription-based resource that features leading medical content, plus multimedia, self-assessment, algorithms, case studies, and more.
African American Communities This link opens in a new window
New
It is a collection of primary source material related to African American community life from the mid-19th century through the late 20th century. It focuses on communities in Atlanta, Chicago, and Brooklyn and towns and cities in North Carolina. Material types include oral histories (including audio and video files), correspondence, leaflets and pamphlets, magazines and periodicals, legal documents and official records, photographs, maps, ephemera, and images of objects.
American Indian Histories and Cultures This link opens in a new window
New
It is a collection of digitized primary sources from the 17th to mid-20th century depicting American Indian history in the United States, Canada, and Mexico from American Indian and European perspectives. Material types include manuscripts (treaties, speeches, petitions, diaries, travel journals, and ledger books), artwork (illustrations, sketches, watercolors, oil paintings, and American Indian art), American Indian newspapers, rare books, photographs, and maps.
This digital archive comprises over 30 periodicals concerning the 20th-century history of the British Empire, decolonization, and the history and culture of former colonies.
Defining Gender This link opens in a new window
New
It is a collection of digitized primary sources depicting gender in British history, literature, society, and culture from 1450-1910. Materials in this collection provide info about how British perceptions of gender and gender roles developed and changed. Material types include ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, government papers, illustrated writings on anatomy, writings on midwifery, art and fashion publications, receipt books, conduct and advice literature, poetry, novels, ballads, drama, literary manuscripts, travel writing, and more.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
It is a digital library providing full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, consisting of two separate collections. Coverage ranges from the 1950s through to recent years including the preeminent US and UK titles - The Advocate and Gay Times.
Sex & Sexuality This link opens in a new window
New
It is a collection of digitized primary sources documenting attitudes toward sexuality, gender, and sexual behavior in the United States, Great Britain, and Australia from the 19th-21st centuries. The collection includes two modules: Module I: Research Collections from The Kinsey Institute Library & Special Collections and Module II: Self-Expression, Community and Identity.
Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice This link opens in a new window
New
It is a collection of digitized primary source material from archives around the world relating to the history of slavery between 1490 and 2007, with a focus on the various forms slavery has taken around the globe, slaves' experiences and testimonies, abolitionist and social justice movements, and the global legacy of slavery. Document types include manuscripts, government publications, court records, pamphlets, books, maps, images, testimonials, and voyage logs. The collection includes materials produced in Africa, Europe, Southeast Asia, the Caribbean, North America, and South America. It also includes thematic companion essays and historical timelines.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...