Research Guides: Deaf Studies: Home

Assistant University Librarian for Content Management

Email Me

Contact:

Cook Library
Towson University
mgilbert@towson.edu

410-704-4926

Subjects: Arabic, Chinese, Deaf Studies, French, German, Interdisciplinary Studies, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Portugese, Russian, Spanish

Welcome

Welcome to the Subject Guide for Deaf Studies. This guide identifies resources that will help you with your research, such as books, e-books, databases, videos, images, and writing guides. Use the menu at the left for information on the history of Deaf Studies at TU.

Getting Started

Cook OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Cook OneSearch to find books, e-books, journal articles, and other resources.

Books, E-Books & Print

Deaf Culture by Irene W. Leigh; Jean F. Andrews; Raylene Paludneviciene
Publication Date: 2016
This e-book, available on & off-campus,critically examines how Deaf culture fits into education, psychology, cultural studies, technology, and the arts.
The SAGE Deaf Studies Encyclopedia
Publication Date: 2016
This e-reference book, available on & off-campus, defines the current state of Deaf Studies at an international level. This e-book shifts focus away from the medical model that has viewed Deaf individuals as needing to be remedied in order to correct so-called hearing and speaking deficiencies for the sole purpose of assimilation into mainstream society. The members of deaf communities are part of a distinct cultural and linguistic group with a unique, vibrant community and way of being.
True Biz by Sara Novic
Call Number: PS3614.O929 T78 2022
Publication Date: 2022-04-05
This print book, available on the 4th floor of the library, celebrates Deaf Culture in a coming of age story that takes place in a residential school for the Deaf. This is a story of sign language and lip-reading, cochlear implants and civil rights, isolation and injustice, first love and loss, and, above all, great persistence, daring, and joy. Absorbing and assured, idiosyncratic and relatable, this is an unforgettable journey into the Deaf community and a universal celebration of human connection

Databases and Journals

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good database for researching Deaf Studies; use search terms such as "Deaf culture" or "Deaf community" to find articles and videos.
Image Quest This link opens in a new window
This database provides more than two million rights-cleared images that may be used in a PowerPoint or other presentations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database of peer-reviewed scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences. Full-text coverage begins with the first issue of the journal title.

Streaming Video

Alphabet in American Sign Language (ASL)
This short streaming video shows the alphabet in ASL
Making Noise in Silence
From Kanopy, this streaming video explores the richness and complexities of Deaf culture from the perspective of two Korean high school students who attend the California School for the Deaf

Writing

Citing Sources
The Cook Library web page gives detailed examples about how to cite sources, using different styles, e.g., MLA, APA, Chicago, etc. Scroll down to the style assigned by your professor and see examples of how to cite print books, e-resources, web pages, etc.
Evaluate Popular Sources
From Northwestern Oklahoma State University, this site lists criteria for evaluating internet sources, including a link to the Library Evaluation of Sources: the CRAAP Test
What is a Scholarly Journal?
From San Diego State University's FAQ, this web page defines a scholarly or peer-reviewed journal, including a chart with characteristics of popular magazines, trade publications, and scholarly journals.

Ask a Librarian

Deaf Studies