Research Guides: TSEM 102: The Limits of Reason (Sharvit): Welcome to the Albert S. Cook Library

How do you do?

My name is Carl Olson, Librarian for Philosophy & Religious Studies. If you need further assistance, please contact me by email at colson@towson.edu.

Your Librarian

Carl Olson

Email Me

Contact:

colson@towson.edu

(410) 704-3267

Subjects: Astronomy, Geography and Environmental Planning, Geology, Government Information, Humanities, Philosophy, Physics, Religious Studies

The Story of Philosophy

"We are too weak to discover the truth by reason alone..." (Saint Augustine of Hippo, 354-430 CE).

"Man will never be free until the last king is strangled with the entrails of the last priest" (Denis Diderot, 1713-1784 CE).

“There is only one thing a philosopher can be relied upon to do...to contradict other philosophers" (William James, 1842-1910, CE).

References & Background Sources

Oxford Very Short Introductions Introductory pamphlets on topics in philosophy.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Philosophy and philosophers, ancient and modern, around the world.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy Essays and articles on key topics in philosophy.

Searching for Academic Journal Articles

Find a Journal in Cook One Search
Cook One Search Discovery Tool E-books, chapters, articles, references, and government documents from Cook Library.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary coverage of social sciences, humanities, sciences, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, and ethnic studies.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window Provides citations for articles, essays, and reviews in over 1550 journals and chapters dealing with religious and theological scholarship.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Digital image archive of over 450 core scholarly journals back to the late 19th century.
- This link opens in a new window
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window Research published in journals and books, anthologies and book reviews published since 1940 within the fifteen fields of philosophy.
- This link opens in a new window

Citation Databases

Citing Sources This Cook Library web page lists the major styles, such as MLA and APA, with instructions and examples on compiling citations for different types of material and format, including print and electronic sources using these style guides.
Google Scholar Scholarship with links to works cited, and to paper that cite each publication.
The Lens A scholarly search engine.

Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a large, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also has tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
- This link opens in a new window

Open-Access Publications

BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) Multidisciplinary and international database of academic articles.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database of open-access scholarly and scientific journals.
- This link opens in a new window

Searching for Books

Cook OneSearch This link opens in a new window Search here for the largest selection of material.
- This link opens in a new window
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window A collection of open access eBooks available as free PDF downloads, covering a range of disciplines.
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window Large selection of ebook titles in a broad range of academic subjects.
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary e-book database covering all academic subject areas.
- This link opens in a new window

Ask a Librarian

TSEM 102: The Limits of Reason (Sharvit)