Research Guides: MATH 237: Elementary Biostatistics: Home

Home

Science, Technology, and Math Librarian

Elisabeth B. White

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Email: ebwhite@towson.edu

Phone: (410) 704-5326

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science/Studies, Forensic Chemistry, Math Education, Mathematics, MB3, Research Impact, Research Metrics, Science Education

Welcome!

Welcome! This guide contains resources to help you find a good data set for your MATH 237 project. Finding a data set and determining whether it will work for your assignment can both be tricky tasks, so please don't hesitate to contact your librarian for assistance. Her contact information is on this page.

The document below provides information about how to search a repository and how to determine if a data set will work for your assignment.

MATH 237: Finding a Data Set (.docx)

Data Repositories

The repositories below are good places to look for raw sample data on health-related topics. Video demonstrations of several of them are embedded at the bottom of this page.

Dryad
Dryad provides access to the datasets associated with published research articles. You can search for the title of an article to see if their data is published in Dryad, or you can search for a specific topic or keyword to see which datasets are available in this area.
Mendeley Data
Mendeley Data provides access to over 26 million open access datasets. It searches several data repositories at once, including Dryad and ICPSR.
Harvard Dataverse
Harvard Dataverse contains datasets on a wide variety of topics, including biology and health sciences.
ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to datasets on a wide range of topics. It is especially useful for topics in the social sciences. While most datasets in ICPSR are free and publicly available, some of them may require you to create an account in order to download them.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA): Data and Dissemination
SAMHSA provides a national framework for quality improvement in behavioral health care will inform policy, measure program impact, and lead to improved quality of services and outcomes of individuals, families, and communities. Data helps SAMHSA and the nation assess the impact of the changes to US health care systems and identify and address behavioral health disparities.
Figshare
Figshare is a repository containing a wide variety of research outputs, including datasets. After you search, you can limit your results to just datasets by checking the box next to "datasets" in the Item Type section on the left side of the screen.
Open Science Framework
Open Science Framework (OSF) is a platform where research can choose to make specific aspects of the research, including datasets, available to the public. Not all OSF projects have datasets attached to them, so it may take some trial and error to find what you need. Search for your topic, click on a project, and then check the files section to see what datasets are available for download.
re3data.org
The Registry of Research Data Repositories contains a list of data repositories, rather than the datasets themselves. It is a great place to look if you are not sure where to search for the dataset you need.

Ask a Librarian

MATH 237: Elementary Biostatistics

Science, Technology, and Math Librarian

Welcome!

Data Repositories

Dryad Demonstration

Mendeley Data Demonstration