Skip to main content
Albert S. Cook Library

Additions to Online Resources during COVID-19

Electronic Resource access changes during COVID-19 outbreak

About this page

This page is updated as the library hears from vendors making additional content available during the COVID-19 outbreak.

Questions? Contact tutechservices@towson.edu.

Booklist

All Booklist and Book Links content on www.booklistonline.com  is now freely available until further notice.

Cambridge University Press

Over 700 textbooks, Cambridge Companions Online, Cambridge Histories Online, and Elements are available free to Towson University users until the end of May 2020.  Access to books: textbooks, companions, histories and elements.

Cengage - Gale

Cengage is offering free access to all our digital platforms and 14,000 ebooks through Cengage Unlimited, for the remainder of this semester.

This is currently being set up for Towson University. Check this page for updates.

DigitalTheatrePlus

Towson University affiliates have complimentary access to DigitalTheatrePlus through April 20, 2020.

DigitalTheatrePlus

Duke University Press

Duke University Press has provided complementary access for the rest of the semester to:

Ebook Central (Proquest)

ProQuest Ebook Central customers have unlimited access to all owned titles (not including e-textbooks) from this growing list of high-demand publishers through June 19, 2020.

Ebscohost Ebooks

Ebscohost has upgraded our existing holdings to Unlimited-User access until June 30 for a growing list of publishers. See a list of participating publishers.

Faculty Select is a single interface where faculty can easily discover and access Open Educational Resources (OER), as well as find and request access to unrestricted, DRM-free e-books from top academic publishers. With this option, EBSCO is offering a simplified version of Faculty Select that includes access to OER material as well as the option to discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks™ in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use through June 30, 2020. Contact your EBSCO representative if you have any questions or want to learn more. Faculty can use this link to access now.

Elsevier ScienceDirect

The 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will be automatically entitled to all active ScienceDirect customers (including those journals customers who do not currently have books) for a period of 90 days. Users accessing ScienceDirect through IP or remote access will be able to use these books while campuses are closed. Access the title list here.

Globalyceum

Professors who are interested in these areas are encouraged to view these digital Tables of Contents in the following subjects. If you see readings, activities, and/or quizzes that you think will provide online supplements and substitutions to round out your course during the spring emergency, just send an email to tutechservices@towson.edu with the details. The library will contact Globalyceum to set up a promo code account with a Unique Section Number and instructions, so that your students can use these materials immediately and for free. 
American History
American Government
American Women’s History
World History
Western Civilization
Psychology

Hein Online

Towson University has complimentary access to the following resources until December 15, 2020

Access Hein Online

  • Brennan Center for Justice Publications
  • Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions
  • Code of Federal Regulations
  • Slavery in America and the World
  • Criminal Justice in America
  • U.S. Code
  • Fastcase Basic
  • U.S. Congressional Documents
  • Federal Register Library
  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set
  • Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
  • U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals
  • GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions
  • U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
  • Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
  • U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library
  • History of International Law
  • U.S. Presidential Library
  • History of Supreme Court Nominations
  • U.S. Statutes at Large
  • John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
  • U.S. Supreme Court Library
  • Law Journal Library
  • U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
  • Legal Classics
  • Women and the Law (Peggy)
  • Pentagon Papers
  • World Constitutions Illustrated
  • Religion and the Law
 

Additional Trialed Content

  • Fastcase Premium: In addition to the U.S. federal and state case law included with Fastcase Basic, Fastcase Premium provides added features such as (1) full-text and metadata case law searching, (2) ScholarCheck’s citation features that provides articles and cases that cite the current case, and (3) Bad Law Bot’s full negative treatment analysis.
  •  U.S. State Package (Maryland): The most comprehensive and affordable collection of constitutional, historical, and current materials available for the state of Maryland. (https://heinonline.org/HeinDocs/states/us-state-packages.pdf)

Henry Stewart Business and Management Collection

​Henry Stewart publications has given free access to Towson University affiliates until May 15, 2020 for the following collections.

  • Access
  • 20 Henry Stewart Business and Management Journals publishing circa 6,000 peer-reviewed case studies, vocational articles and applied research, in Management, Marketing, Real Estate, Banking and Finance
  • 1,300 Henry Stewart Business and Management Multimedia Lectures in Finance, Accounting & Economics; Global Business Management; Management, Leadership & Organisation; Marketing & Sales; and Strategy

Internet Archive National Emergency Library

The Internet Archive has suspended waitlists for the 1.4 million (and growing) books in the National Emergency Library through June 30, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later.

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)

JoVE is providing all of their Education video content free to use in STEM teaching efforts through June 15th, 2020.

JSTOR

JSTOR has expedited the release of a new set of 26 journal archives in Public Health, making them openly accessible through June 30, 2020.

 Through June 30, 2020.

  • For participating academic institutions that currently license some, but not all, JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections, we will turn on access to all unlicensed collections at no cost.
  • We are working with publishers to make more than 30,000 books available at no charge for JSTOR-participating academic institutions and secondary schools that do not participate in our books program. The number of books available through this effort is growing daily as more publishers opt in.

Further details about this program, participating publishers, and links to other useful resources can be found at about.jstor.org/covid19/.

 

Kanopy

Loeb Classical Library

Loeb Classical Library and Harvard University Press have made it free to Access Loeb Classical Library until June 30, 2020. (Answers to FAQ)

 

Ohio State University Press

OSU Library’s IR Knowledge Bank has added all titles from 2015 on to the existing 600 book collection. 

PolicyMap

PolicyMap is providing free university-wide trial access for faculty pivoting to online instruction through the Spring 2020 semester.  

Access PolicyMap 

Project Muse

In response to the challenges created by the global public health crisis of COVID-19, Project MUSE is pleased to support its participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available for free on our platform. With many higher education institutions moving into an exclusively online learning environment for the foreseeable future, we hope that easy access to vetted research in the humanities and social sciences, from a variety of distinguished university presses, societies, and related not-for-profit publishers, will help to support teaching, learning, and knowledge discovery for users worldwide.

Read the full announcement about free access to MUSE content. Please contact MUSE Customer Support with any questions.

Participating Publishers

The following publishers have chosen to temporarily make content freely available on Project MUSE. Each publisher designates the specific content and for how long it will be freely available on MUSE. We will update this list on a daily basis.

Psychotherapy.net

Towson University users have access to streaming material on Psychotherapy.net for the remainder of the spring semester.

https://www.psychotherapy.net/stream/towson

 

 

Redshelf eBooks

To ensure that all students have access to their course materials amidst the COVID-19 outbreak, we're partnering with the publishing community to provide you with up to 7 free eBooks from participating publishers. (Program applies to students at non-profit, semester-based schools, and access runs through May 25th.)

Access Redshelf eBooks

SAGE

SAGE Video, SAGE Research Methods Video, and SAGE Knowledge are available for free to Towson University affiliates for the rest of the spring semester.

Access the content as follows:

User guides, tutorial videos, and email templates are available here.  

University of Michigan Press

University of Michigan Press will make all content in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) has removed 
access restrictions for all 1,150+ titles until the end of April 2020. The UMP EBC contains the Press’s scholarly output published since 2012 as well as new books and older titles as they are digitized. Note they will be free-to-read, not to download, during this time.

Access University of Michigan Press E-books

U.S. Documents Masterfile

Paratext has provided complimentary access to U.S. Documents Masterfile through the end of the spring semester to Towson University affiliates.

Vital Source

VitalSource and publishers are providing free access to many eTextbooks 

 

Web of Science

Towson University users will be able to access Web of Science through April 23, 2020.

 The URL is http://proxy-tu.researchport.umd.edu/login?url=http://webofscience.com      

The following products and backyears will be available:

BIOSIS Citation Index: 1969-present

Chinese Science Citation Database: 1989-present

Current Contents Connect:

            Life Sciences

Clinical Medicine

Agriculture, Biology & Environmental Sciences

Physical, Chemical & Earth Sciences

Engineering, Computing & Technology

Social & Behavioral Sciences

Arts & Humanities

Business Collection

Electronics and Telecommunications Collection

Data Citation Index: 1900-present

Derwent Innovations Index: 1963-present

KCI-Korean Journal Database: 1980-present
Medline: 1950-present

Russian Science Citation Index: 2005-present

SciELO Citation Index: 1997-present

Web of Science Core Collection:

            Science Citation Index Expanded: 1945-present

            Social Sciences Citation Index: 1956-present

            Arts & Humanities Citation Index: 1975-present

            Book Citation Index

                        Science: 2005-present

                        Social Science & Humanities: 2005-present

             Conference Proceedings Citation Index

                        Science: 1990-present

                        Social Science & Humanities: 1990-present

           Emerging Sources Citation Index: 2015-present

            Current Chemical Reactions (CCR)

            Index Chemicus (IC)

Zoological Records: 1969-present