Research Guides: Physician Assistant Studies: Clinical Skills

Clinical Videos

Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online contains some clinical content. Enter search terms like "clinical skills" to see what's available.
JoVE Science Education Unlimited This link opens in a new window
JoVE, the Journal of Visual Experiments, includes a Clinical Skills section with video with sections for physical exam, nursing skills, emergency medicine and critical care, and coronavirus procedures.
Nursing Videos This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of nursing instruction and technique videos from Films on Demand.

Clinical Summaries

These resources may give an overview of a disease or condition and link to other resources, such as more evidence, or consumer health information.

Johns Hopkins Health Library: Conditions and Diseases This link opens in a new window
A health library from Johns Hopkins Medicine with summaries for health conditions.
Mayo Clinic: Diseases and Conditions This link opens in a new window
A health library from the Mayo Clinic with summaries of information on health conditions.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Contains clinical summaries and more from the National Institutes of health on over 500 diseases and conditions. Includes an encyclopedia and dictionaries and links to clinical trials.
Merck Manuals This link opens in a new window
Full text versions of the Merck Manual of Medical Information - Home Edition, the Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, and the Merck Manual of Geriatrics. Choose professional version, conduct search.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE knowledge is a searchable collection of over 60 encyclopedias and reference works covering many subjects, and may include book chapters or summaries on diseases or conditions.

Tests Index at Lab Tests Online
Lab Tests Online is an award-winning health information web resource designed to help patients and caregivers understand the many lab tests that are a vital part of medical care. Since its launch in 2001, Lab Tests Online has helped millions of users learn about their tests and discuss them more clearly with their healthcare providers.

Anatomy Resources

The following resources have a variety of human anatomy, musculoskeletal systems, and radiological images. Some images have a Creative Commons license and may be used in presentations or posters. Others are to be used for teaching purposes only.

Anatomy and Physiology by J. Gordon Betts; Kelly A. Young; Peter Desaix; Eddie Johnson; Jody E. Johnson; Oksana Korol; Dean Kruse; Brandon Poe; James A. Wise; Mark Womble
ISBN: 9781947172043
Publication Date: 2013-04-25
Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements. Its lucid text, strategically constructed art, career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course. The web-based version of Anatomy and Physiology also features links to surgical videos, histology, and interactive diagrams. From OpenStax.

Anatomia This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From the University of Toronto, the Anatomia Collection contains approximately 4500 illustrations of the human anatomy which are contained within published books, often historical in nature.
Anatomy Atlases This link opens in a new window
Anatomy Atlases addresses the continuum of anatomy education and may be of use primarily to three distinct populations. It is written for and intended primarily for use by aspiring healthcare students and practicing clinicians.
Bassett Collection of Stereoscopic Images from Lane Medical Library This link opens in a new window
1,547 photographic images and accompanying drawings based on photographs are compiled into a 24-volume Stereoscopic Atlas of Human Anatomy, completed in 1962. The images in this collection are derived from the Atlas project. These images are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.
eSkeletons This link opens in a new window
eSkeletons provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy through this osteology database. Images and content are created by faculty, staff, and students at the University of Texas. All photographs, images, and text are copyrighted by eSkeletons, John Kappelman, or the University of Texas at Austin, and licensed by Creative Commons.

Gross Anatomy Dissections from the University of Wisconsin
These videos were developed for the University of Wisconsin Gross Anatomy Dissection course.

Innerbody Anatomy Explorer This link opens in a new window
Innerbody.com first began in 1998 with the goal of building a legitimate, trustworthy personal health resource. This resource contains a comprehensive section on the human anatomy.
Muscle Atlas from University of Washington This link opens in a new window
The medical illustrations contained in this online atlas are copyrighted © 1997 by the University of Washington and cannot be used without permission; however, the images may serve as a teaching tool.

Neuroanatomy from the University of British Columbia
Together with anatomy educators from across campus at UBC and from partner universities, Neuroanatomy creators are making open educational resources for neuroscience and anatomy for the global community, including video, e-books and interactive web materials.

University of Southern California Orthopaedic Sugical Anatomy Teaching Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 1,900 items in a digital collection on orthopaedic surgeries.

Apps

3D Brain
Use your touch screen to rotate and zoom around 29 interactive structures. Discover how each brain region functions, what happens when it is injured, and how it is involved in mental illness. Each detailed structure comes with information on functions, disorders, brain damage, case studies, and links to modern research.
Anatomy 3D by Anatronica
A free 3D educational guide to the human skeletal and muscular anatomy (available also as FREE web app and for Windows/MacOS desktop as well) featuring an advanced interactive 3D touch interface. Wikipedia and Grays anatomy info available.
Anatomy Learning
Explore the human body in real-time. A true and totally 3D app for studying human anatomy, built on an advanced interactive 3D touch interface.
Learn Muscles: Anatomy
A great reference, testing, and education tool. Includes 125 beautiful muscles images with name, action, origin, insertion, and comments, plus audio pronunciation guide, a quiz maker, and 4 short videos to create a rich learning experience.
Physiology Animations
Physiology Animations is a video reference atlas with 3D animations that communicate core physiology and common conditions. There are 14 free videos to start, with more available via in-app purchases.
Visual Anatomy Lite
Interactive anatomy reference with muscle action movies, 3D rotational models, Gray's anatomy images add-on, Latin names, a muscle highlighting tool and full description!

These apps can be used for Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC). Unfortunately, not all of these apps are free but may have free versions. Please check before downloading.

Assistive Express
Assistive Apps presents Assistive Express, an affordable Augmentative Alternative Communication (AAC) Device, catered to people with difficulty in speech. The biggest challenge for such users when using AAC devices is the number of key strokes or hits required to construct any sentences.
Grid Player
Grid Player is an Alternative and Augmentative Communication (AAC) App that helps people who cannot speak or who have unclear speech to communicate. Sentences that you create are spoken out loud.
Patient Communicator
The Patient Communicator by the Society of Critical Care Medicine is designed to improve communication among patients, families, and caregivers. With translations in 18 languages; a diary feature; options to easily communicate about pain, moods, and needs; a glossary of terms and other education materials for patients and families; the Patient Communicator app can help ease the stress of a hospital stay.
SmallTalk Intensive Care
SmallTalk Intensive Care provides a picture-based vocabulary of phrases that patients can use to communicate their needs and feelings to medical-care providers in the ICU. It includes phrases such as “I have chest pain” and “I want a doctor.”
Sorenson BuzzCards
BuzzCards is an app designed to help deaf people communicate easily with people who don’t know sign language. The app works like a deck of flashcards. You type the message and show it to the person with whom you are communicating.
SoundingBoard
SoundingBoard transforms your iPhone, iPod touch, or iPad into the latest in communication technology. In just minutes, you can create custom boards using AbleNet symbols or your own words. Perfect for children in special education, persons on the autism spectrum, and adults with disabilities. SoundingBoard includes switch access and is compatible with the AbleNet Blue2 Switch.
Verbally
Verbally is an easy-to-use, comprehensive Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC) app for the iPad. Verbally brings speech to those without and enables real conversation with its simple, intuitive design. Just tap in what you want to say and Verbally speaks for you. Premium Features available with an in-app purchase.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Prevention Task Force
The Prevention TaskForce application assists primary care clinicians to identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients. The Prevention TaskForce data is based on the current recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) and can be searched by specific patient characteristics, such as age, sex, and selected behavioral risk factors.
American College of Physicians (ACP) Clinical Guidelines & Recommendations
ACP's goal is to provide clinicians with recommendations based on the best available evidence; to inform clinicians of when there is no evidence; and finally, to help clinicians deliver the best health care possible.
Calculate by QxMD
A clinical calculator and decision support tool in the areas of cardiology, internal medicine, nephrology, general practice, hematology, gastroenterology, emergency medicine, oncology, orthopedics, respirology, neurology, neurosurgery, general surgery, obstetrics and more.
Epocrates
With valuable features including drug information, interaction check, pill identification, clinical practice guidelines, and formulary, Epocrates is a great learning tool.
Eponyms
Learn medical terms with these short descriptions of about 1800 common and obscure medical eponyms (e.g., Rovsing's sign, Virchow's node) to your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch. A perfect tool to quickly look up the meaning of any eponym.
Lab Values Reference
This app is perfect for both academic and clinical settings, providing clear, concise coverage of 500 of the most commonly performed laboratory tests.
OpenStax
OpenStax is part of Rice University, which is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable corporation. Contains open access books and open educational content.

Medscape
Medscape is the leading online destination for physicians and healthcare professionals worldwide. Designed to provide a personalized experience, the Medscape app offers the latest medical news and expert commentary in your specialty as well as drug and disease information, relevant professional education, and CME/CE activities.
Read by QxMD
Read by QxMD allows you to follow scholarly publications from journals you select. May be able to integrate with institutional credentials for full-text access.

Drugs@FDA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Drugs@FDA includes information about drugs, including biological products, approved for human use in the United States (see FAQ), but does not include information about FDA-approved products regulated by the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (for example, vaccines, allergenic products, blood and blood products, plasma derivatives, cellular and gene therapy products). For prescription brand-name drugs, Drugs@FDA typically includes the most recent labeling approved by the FDA (for example, Prescribing Information and FDA-approved patient labeling when available), regulatory information, and FDA staff reviews that evaluate the safety and effectiveness of the drug.

Ask a Librarian

Physician Assistant Studies

Clinical Videos

Clinical Summaries

Anatomy Resources

Apps