Gerontology

AoA website brings together a wide variety of statistical information about this growing population.

PRB has staff who provide high-quality data and analysis on population, health, and the environment.

The World Health Organization provides Fact sheets, research and data on the global aging population.

Provides the latest data on the 41 key indicators selected by the Forum* to portray aspects of the lives of older Americans and their families. It is divided into six subject areas: population, economics, health status, health risks and behaviors, health care, and environment.

From the website: CDC Wide-ranging ONline Data for Epidemiologic Research (CDC WONDER) is a web application that makes many health-related data sets available to the worldwide public health community.

HCUPnet is a free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.

" The Healthy Aging Data Portal provides easy access to Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) data on a range of key indicators of health and well-being, screenings and vaccinations, and mental health among older adults at the national and state levels. "

"...Partner[s] with nonprofit organizations, government, and business to provide innovative community programs and services, online help, and advocacy."

NIA mission is to discover what may contribute to a healthy old age as well as to understand and address the disease and disability sometimes associated with growing older. NIA research program includes - the study of basic cellular changes that occur with age, the examination of the biomedical, social, and behavioral aspects of age-related conditions, including Alzheimer’s disease.

"This report series provides the most current data on 15 key indicators of older adult health at the national and state levels, as well as calls to action, state success stories, and other resources. "

PLACES, a collaboration between CDC, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the CDC Foundation, allows local health departments and jurisdictions regardless of population size and urban-rural status to better understand the burden and geographic distribution of health-related outcomes in their areas and assist them in planning public health interventions.

The State Snapshots provide state-specific health care quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help state officials and their public- and private-sector partners better understand health care quality and disparities in their state.

Find out information about Maryland and other states from America's Health Rankings: behaviors, community and environment, policy, clinical care, morbidity and mortality, and more.

The Baltimore City Office of Information & Technology will provide sustainable infrastructure and technology to support and enhance City departments, communities, businesses, and mayoral goals. Use this data portal to access various metrics about Baltimore City.

Reports and interactive maps on a variety of health status indicators and demographic information.

Select a state to access information about programs, funding, chronic disease plans, statistics and data, risk factors and health indicators, and key contacts.

The State Snapshots provide graphical representations of State-specific health care quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help State officials and their public- and private-sector partners better understand health care quality and disparities in their State.

Choose a category or a location to view health status indicators, risk factors, utilization, costs, and more.

Explore the Maryland Department of Health Virtual Data Unit (VDU), the central hub for all department data. Search data by health categories. Data formats vary and include tables, maps, reports, and portals. Portals are interactive and allow users to query data and generate tables, graphs, or maps.​

Shadac is a multidisciplinary health policy research center with a focus on state health policy. SHADAC is supported by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and is affiliated with the Health Policy and Management Division of the School of Public Health at the University of Minnesota.

Maryland (and other states) at a glance: population, disease categories, deaths, and more.

Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics. It includes the Data Finder, which gives you Health, United States, 2018 trend tables and figures on a subject and/or population subgroup of interest.

This compilation of statistics includes information on both chronic and communicable diseases.

Forum on Child and Family Statistics

Quick and easy access to a variety of health topics, the latest in reports, and additional data and tools about U.S. healthcare, health status indicators, risk factors, incidence, prevalence, and more.

HCUPnet is a free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). The system provides health care statistics and information for hospital inpatient, emergency department, and ambulatory settings, as well as population-based health care data on counties.

The HCUP (pronounced "H-CUP") family of healthcare databases and related software tools and products is made possible by a Federal-State-Industry partnership sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) includes the largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States.

Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time.

The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report is a weekly epidemiological digest for the United States published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. It was originally established as Weekly Health Index in 1930, changing its title to Weekly Mortality Index in 1941 and Morbidity and Mortality in 1952. (From the MMWR page.)

The Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program provides information on cancer statistics in an effort to reduce the cancer burden among the U.S. population. SEER is supported by the Surveillance Research Program (SRP) in NCI's Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences (DCCPS).

Produced the Centers for Disease Control, this website contains a wealth of statistical information on a variety of health topics.

NIDCD conducts and supports biomedical and behavioral research and training in the normal and disordered processes of communication (speech, language and voice), hearing, balance, taste and smell. The Institute also supports research and training in co-occurring speech and language disorders related to Autism Spectrum Disorders.

SAMHSA provides a national framework for quality improvement in behavioral health care will inform policy, measure program impact, and lead to improved quality of services and outcomes of individuals, families, and communities. Data helps SAMHSA and the nation assess the impact of the changes to US health care systems and identify and address behavioral health disparities.

Overviews of state, county, or place with geo-profiles and more demographic data.

Draws on a variety of data sources including administrative statistics and household surveys compiled by the World Bank Group and its client countries, World Health Organization (WHO), United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) etc. Includes mortality, immunization, malnutrition, and more.

The OECD Environmental Statistics database provide a unique collection of policy-relevant environmental statistics, such as air quality and health and more.

Core Indicators 2019: Health Trends in the Americas is a milestone achievement. For a quarter of a century now PAHO has--through this publication, provided the latest information on key health and health-related indicators for the Region of the Americas. Data for 270+ indicators are published annually online, within the Core Indicators section of PAHO's Health Information Platform for the Americas (PLISA, according to the acronym in Spanish).

The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.

More than 7,000 indicators from the World Bank, including development and aid, education, infrastructure, labor, poverty, and science & technology.

World Health Organization’s portal of health statistics covering 194 member states. Contains over 1,000 health indicators that are organized to show progress toward WHO’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDG). SDGs include: maternal and child health, communicable disease, substance abuse, violence, environment, health coverage, healthcare workforce, and more.