Research Guides: TSEM 102: Risk and Resilience (Brar): Finding Context: Background Sources

Need Help?

Cook Library has experienced librarians and library assistants ready to help, no matter where you are!

chat loading...

Text message: 410-774-1398

Phone: 410-704-2462

You can also:

Why Background Information?

Encyclopedias and other "reference works" can be great places to look for paper topic ideas and to refine your questions. The articles in subject-specific encyclopedias from academic publishers usually have references at the end of the article to help you identify other sources for your topic.

General Databases for Background Sources

SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Knowledge is a searchable collection of thousands of selected ebooks and over 60 encyclopedias and reference works covering many subjects, including Business and management, criminal justice, education, family studies, politics, and many others, and provides unlimited, site-wide use. Terms and Conditions.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected titles. Gale eBooks provides access to encyclopedias and other reference works covering education, law, world biography, business, economics, other cultures, public health, and more. Terms and Conditions
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher, published by CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Press, reports a current social issue each week. Reports are approximately 20 pages long and provide background information, important points to consider, charts and graphs, and a source list for further reading.