Research Guides: HIST 484: Slavery: Middle East & Africa: Find Other Primary Sources

General Primary Source Collections

Databases

Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of 40 historical newspapers, including domestic and international publications. Domestic publications include historical black and Jewish newspapers. Dates of coverage for individual newspapers vary, but the collection overall covers 1791-2016.
North American Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text databases of primary source material from the 18th and 19th century publications. Collections include the Civil War; African American newspapers from the 19th century; American county histories to 1900; and specific resources and newspapers such as Godey’s Lady’s Book and the Pennsylvania Gazette.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AASC contains over 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference program and includes 5 major encyclopedias; Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History,1619-1895 ; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America; and African American National Biography. This database also includes thematic timelines, primary source documents, and specially written commentaries on the personal and public histories of African Americans. See Terms and Conditions.
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains Alexander Street Press' entire set of family of letter and diary databases. More than 8,000 individual writers are represented in the collection, dating from 1675 to the present, and includes nearly 4,000 collections of letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies published commercially by Alexander Street Press. In addition, the database currently includes 99,789 documents in 2,236 books and 432 websites that vividly document the social history of the English-speaking world.

Transatlantic Slave Trade

African Origins
Using the personal details of 91,491 Africans liberated by International Courts of Mixed Commission and British Vice Admiralty Courts, this resource makes possible new geographic, ethnic, and linguistic data on peoples captured in Africa and pulled into the slave trade.
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on more than 35,000 slave voyages that forcibly embarked over 12 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Ask a Librarian

HIST 484: Slavery: Middle East & Africa

General Primary Source Collections

Databases

Transatlantic Slave Trade