Research Guides: English Language Center: Other Sources

Newspapers

Baltimore Sun - Current (Pawprints Collegiate Readership Program)
Provided by Towson University Offices of Civic Engagement & Social Responsibility, Housing & Residence Life, and Student Government Association. Visit this portal to create and access your subscription to The Baltimore Sun using your TU credentials and email address. After creating/renewing your account, you should be able to log in directly through The Baltimore Sun using your email address and password. Overview of available features
Cook OneSearch
Find books, articles, media, government information, and other library resources all in one place. Search what Towson owns as well as resources at other USMAI Libraries.
Historical Newspapers
A collection of 40 historical newspapers, including domestic and international publications. Domestic publications include historical black and Jewish newspapers. Dates of coverage for individual newspapers vary, but the collection overall covers 1791-2016.
News & Newspapers, Current
Search for citations, abstracts, and full-text for the Baltimore Sun (1990-present), Christian Science Monitor (1980-present), New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), and Washington Post (1987-present). ProQuest also provides digitized newspaper versions of the New York Times (1980-2008), Wall Street Journal (selected issues from 1982-2002), and Washington Post (selected issues from 1988-2008) with high-resolution facsimile images of the print editions.
New York Times – Current (Pawprints Collegiate Readership Program)
Provided by Towson University Offices of Civic Engagement & Social Responsibility, Housing & Residence Life, and Student Government Association. Visit this portal to create and access your subscription to The New York Times using your TU credentials and email address. After creating/renewing your account, you should be able to log in directly through The New York Times using your email address and password. Overview of available features.

Music & Videos

Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online: Premium includes over 65,000 videos every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
Kanopy
Kanopy is a film streaming service, offering over 12,000 streaming films from over 30 suppliers, with new films added daily. This database includes films from the Criterion Collection, PBS, Psychotherapy.net, New Day Films, and many others.
Films on Demand Academic Collection
A web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group both on and off-campus. This collection includes more than 30,000 educational titles in the humanities & social sciences; science; business and economics; and health.
DRAM Online
An electronic resource of recordings, including CD audio, liner notes and essays from New World, Composers Recordings, and other labels. QuickTime 6.5.2 or later is the preferred player for DRAM streaming media.

Ask a Librarian

English Language Center

Newspapers

Music & Videos