Research Guides: Philosophy: Philosophy at Cook Library

Philosophy at Cook Library

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

colson@towson.edu

(410) 704-3267

Subjects: Astronomy, Geography and Environmental Planning, Geology, Government Information, Humanities, Philosophy, Physics, Religious Studies

Getting Started in Philosophy

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy Essays and articles on key topics in philosophy.
Oxford Very Short Introductions General introductions to many academic subjects.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Philosophy and philosophers, ancient and modern, around the world.

Book Catalogs

Catalog USMAI Find books and electronic documents in the University System of Maryland.
Cook One Search Discovery Tool E-books, chapters, articles, references, and government documents from Cook Library.
Towson Catalog Collections owned by Cook Library, including ebooks, documents and encyclopedias.
Worldcat TU FirstSearch Search Towson University and libraries nationally and worldwide.

eBook Databases

Dissertations and Theses: Global This link opens in a new window This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary e-book database that covers all academic subject areas. The collection includes more than 150,000 titles from more than 220 academic, STM, and professional publishers. Towson University's Ebook Central collection also includes 8 separate databases in business, marketing and economics; humanities; life and physical science; medical sciences; computers and information technology; engineering and technology; social and behavioral sciences; education; and reference and maps. In order to download books for offline viewing, you will need Adobe Digital Editions. This collection of ebooks used to be hosted on Ebrary and EBL.
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window This collection contains a large selection of ebook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects, including arts and humanities, business, literature, social sciences, sciences, and technology. Books range in audience level from basic introductory texts to scholarly monographs. Titles are from a wide range of publishers, including Cambridge University Press, Harvard University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, Springer,  Wiley, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Created with the generous support of the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world.
- This link opens in a new window

Philosophy Article Sources

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database of scholarly and scientific journals that are available open access.
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Digital image archive of over 450 core scholarly journals
- This link opens in a new window
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window Research published since 1940 within fifteen fields of philosophy.
- This link opens in a new window

BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) Multidisciplinary and international database of academic articles.
CORE (COnnecting REpositories) Aggregator of open access repositories in all disciplines, from the Knowledge Media Institute.
OpenAIRE Metadata Worldwide Research Engine Open scholarly portal to thousands of articles, papers, and research worldwide.

Multimedia

Films on Demand Academic Collection This link opens in a new window A web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group both on and off-campus. This collection includes more than 30,000 educational titles in the humanities & social sciences; science; business and economics; and health.
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a film streaming service, offering over 12,000 streaming films from over 30 suppliers, with new films added daily. This database includes films from the Criterion Collection, PBS, Psychotherapy.net, New Day Films, and many others.
Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online: Premium includes over 65,000 videos every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
- This link opens in a new window

Ask a Librarian

Philosophy

Librarian

Getting Started in Philosophy

Book Catalogs

eBook Databases

Philosophy Article Sources

Multimedia