Research Guides: Counseling Psychology: Other Materials: Books, Videos, & Dissertations

Browse the Stacks

You never know what you might find through serendipity. These call number areas at Cook Library may be relevant to Counseling Psychology.

4th Floor

RC475 - 489 Psychotherapy
RC512 - 569.5 Psychopathology

5th Floor

BF636 - 637 Applied psychology (includes some therapy related works)
BF698 - 698.9 Personality Psychology
BF712 - 724.85 Developmental Psychology
HQ1 - 2044 The Family. Marriage. Women.
HV1 - 9960 Social pathology. Social and public welfare

Need Help?

Cook Library has experienced librarians and library assistants ready to help, no matter where you are!

chat loading...

Text message: 410-774-1398

You can also:

Videos

Use the following resources to find and watch streaming videos. Available on and off-campus.

Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Thousands of streaming video resources in a range of subject areas, including Counseling & Therapy and Psychology. Browse or search the collection by title, author, or topic. Sign up for a personal account to create playlists or view playlists created by others.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy includes over 700 videos in Psychology, including areas like psychotherapy, psychological trauma, mental health, influential psychologists, and the DSM 5 Guided Collection.
Films on Demand Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This streaming video collection includes more than 5,500 educational titles, including many in psychology or psychology-related areas.

Theses & Dissertations

Tip: In addition to the original research findings, the comprehensive literature reviews in dissertations and theses may help you discover sources relevant to your own research. You may also wish to review theses or dissertations completed by other Towson students to get a sense for your own final product.

Towson University Electronic Theses & Dissertations
Electronic copies of theses and dissertations completed at Towson University, Fall 2011 - present (pending copyright restrictions). Check the library catalog for circulating copies or older works.

Dissertations and Theses: Global This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive global collection of dissertations and theses, from 1861 to the present day. Full text for most of the dissertations after 1996.

Books

Find books and eBooks using the library's catalog or eBook collections.

WorldCat TU
WorldCat TU is a great way to find books not only at our library, but also through the USMAI system and libraries worldwide. The books available at Towson show up first in your search results, then USMAI, followed by other WorldCat Libraries.

Cook OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Find books, articles, media, government information, and other library resources. Search what Towson owns as well as resources at other USMAI Libraries. Use the check boxes to narrow your search to books and other materials at Towson University.

Remote access to non-Towson USMAI library electronic materials is not available.

Background Materials

APA Dictionary of Psychology
Look-up the meaning to over 25,000 Psychology terms

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association
Print copy on Reserve at Cook Library. Ask at Circulation Desk.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Counseling and Psychotherapy
Approximately 335 signed entries fill two volumes available electronically. Use the "Back Matter" to find a Chronology of theory within the field of counseling. The Master Bibliography and a Resource Guide to key books, journals, and organizations guide you further resources beyond the encyclopedia.
Psychologists' Desk Reference by Gerald P. Koocher (Editor); John C. Norcross (Editor); Beverly A. Greene (Editor)
Covers the entire spectrum of practice issues-from diagnostic codes, practice guidelines, treatment principles, and report checklists, to insight and advice from today's most respected clinicians. Also includes assessment and diagnosis, testing and psychometrics, treatment and psychotherapy, biology and pharmacotherapy, self-help resources, ethical and legal issues, forensic practice, financial and insurance matters, and prevention and consultation.
Encyclopedia of Counseling by Frederick T. L. Leong (Editor)
The Encyclopedia of Counseling provides a comprehensive overview of the theories, models, techniques, and challenges involved in professional counseling. With approximately 600 entries, this definitive resource covers all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in counseling

Ask a Librarian