Art and Design

Currently, there are more than 87,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program, including more than 72,000 from the Research Institute's Foto Arte Minore archive, which features photographs of the art and architecture of Italy over 30 years by German photographer and scholar Max Hutzel (1913–1988). Other images include paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities, sculpture, decorative arts, artists' sketchbooks, watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, and 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks. Over time, images from the Getty Conservation Institute will be added, as well as more images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute.

Citation Information: http://www.getty.edu/about/opencontent.html

Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.

Central portal to the Library of Congress' vast resources, and to electronic resources chosen by the Library staff. Includes over 1.2 million digitized photographs, images, books, articles, cybercasts and other material. Search in "American Memory," or "Prints and Photographs" to find what you need.

Explore more than 400,000 high-resolution images from The Metropolitan Museum of Art. The images are public domain works in the Museum’s world-renowned collection and may be downloaded directly from the Museum’s website for non-commercial use.

Explore thousands of the most significant works of art from the Renaissance to the present day. Our growing collection includes European and American masterpieces in every medium. Browse the collection and make connections between the objects you know and newly discovered gems.

Explore more than 125,000 works of art; create files of digital images; produce products using images from the collection.