Research Guides: Cultural Studies: Find Articles

Research Article Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital image archive of over 450 core scholarly journals in JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV collections. Coverage begins with the first volume and issue of the title. Articles contain full text plus graphics, charts, tables etc.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 235 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,601 conference papers.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Covers subjects in many areas, including social sciences, humanities, education, language & linguistics, arts & literature, cultural and ethnic studies.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text to Sage journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
An abstracted index to articles and other materials on the political, social, and economic history of the United States and Canada from ca. 1450 A.D. Some full-text journal articles from the JSTOR archive are linked to citations back to 1954.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
AASC contains over 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference program and includes 5 major encyclopedias; Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History,1619-1895 ; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America; and African American National Biography. This database also includes thematic timelines, primary source documents, and specially written commentaries on the personal and public histories of African Americans. See Terms and Conditions.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Includes over 300,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing and produced for a broad target audience, from film scholars to general viewers. Subject coverage includes: film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Youth and Popular Culture Online This link opens in a new window
Youth and Popular Culture Magazine Archive showcases unique periodicals from 1940s-present, highlighting topics and trends of youth culture like fashion, rock and roll, sexuality and dating, as well as youth portrayal in the media. At completion, this collection will have 200,000 pages from periodicals published in the United States, United Kingdom, and Canada. Most of the periodicals within the collection are difficult to find and no longer published, such as Clarity Magazine from the 1940s and Petticoat from the 1960s, providing insight to the various content that influenced youth culture throughout the decades.

Ask a Librarian

Cultural Studies

Research Article Databases