Research Guides: Latin American Studies: Images, Films, and Sound

Multimedia

Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Includes access to more than two million images organized by subject matter from more than 50 collections, such as the National Portrait Gallery of London, the National Geographic Society, and others. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use, and may be used in student projects and reports; school Web sites; school newsletters; and other educational uses. Images can be downloaded, printed, saved in a "Lightbox" or virtual folder, or e-mailed as jpegs.
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic library containing the current photos and a selection of pictures from the print and negative library of The Associated Press. This database features photographs of historical figures, political leaders, sports greats, and celebrities, and also includes images from significant news and events of the 20th century, such as World War II, civil rights, the fall of Communism in Eastern Europe, and space exploration. AP Images houses holdings of 10 million negatives and prints dating back more than 100 years, and the AP Photo Archive, which contains more than 2 million images.
Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online: Premium includes over 65,000 videos every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
Films on Demand Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group both on and off-campus. This collection includes more than 30,000 educational titles in the humanities & social sciences; science; business and economics; and health.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
The Naxos Music Library has 87,000 cd tracks for online listening, including the complete Naxos classical, jazz, world-music and historical releases, plus the complete Marco Polo, Da Capo catalogues.

Ask a Librarian

Latin American Studies

Multimedia