Research Guides: Human Resource Development: Background Information & Statistics

HR & Business

Handbook of Human Resource Development
Online; also in STACKS HF5549 .H2962 2014
Dictionary of Human Resource Management
5th floor, call number HF5549 .A23 D53 2001
Human Resource Management: The Key Concepts
Encyclopedia of Management
Overviews of topics, theories, and concepts in management. Sample topics: balanced scorecard, culture, high-performing organization, mentoring, succession planning.
Encyclopedia of Business & Finance
Overviews on topics from accounting, economics, finance, law, management, marketing, and technology.

SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Knowledge is a searchable collection of thousands of selected ebooks and over 60 encyclopedias and reference works covering many subjects, including business and management, criminal justice, education, family studies, politics, and many others, and provides unlimited, site-wide use. Terms and Conditions.

Legal Information Institute (Cornell Law School)
State, federal, and international law and regulations. Features Wex, a legal dictionary and encyclopedia.

West's Encyclopedia of American Law by Jeffrey Lehman; Shirelle Phelps
Provides information on more than 5,000 legal topics, including articles covering important issues, biographies, definitions of legal terms and more.

U.S. Department of Labor
Guides to compliance with DOL-administered laws and regulations, including employment discrimination, working conditions, collective bargaining, workers' compensation, and minimum wage. Statistics; career information.

Employer's Legal Handbook
5th floor STACKS, call number KF3455 .S737 2013
See publisher site for updates.

O*NET OnLine
Knowledge, skills, abilities, work styles, tasks, and wages for careers. A must for job analysis. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor/Employment and Training Administration.
A related site, My Next Move, is another great place for career info.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Comprehensive source on careers, including salary, future prospects, nature of the work, and educational requirements. From the U.S. Department of Labor.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Statistics include employment, unemployment, and productivity.
Maryland Department of Commerce: Maryland Stats & Data
Statistics about Maryland economy, employers, counties, workforce, and industries.