Research Guides: ENGL 317: Writing for Business & Industry (Volker): Additional Law & Ethics Sources

Background Info on Law & Ethics

Encyclopedia of White-Collar & Corporate Crime
Background on types of crimes and legal concepts as well as specific companies, people, and corporate crime scandals.

SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business and other subject-specific encyclopedias.
Includes Encyclopedia of Business Ethics & Society, Encyclopedia of Crime & Punishment, the older edition of Encyclopedia of White Collar & Corporate Crime, etc.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subject-specific encyclopedias in business, law and other topics; includes West’s Encyclopedia of American Law and more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher, published by CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Press, reports a current social issue each week. Reports are approximately 20 pages long and provide background information, important points to consider, charts and graphs, and a source list for further reading. Database access limited to 10 simultaneous users.

Congress.gov (replaces Thomas)
Maryland General Assembly: https://mlis.state.md.us
Nexis Uni (library database)
> Before searching:
select:
Law Reviews (for scholarly law articles)
OR
Cases (for opinions for finalized cases)
Nexis Uni (library database): to find Statutory Law:
Click "All Nexis Uni in upper right corner > choose Statutes & Legislation for category before searching
Oyez: US Supreme Court Media: https://www.oyez.org
Google Scholar: https://scholar.google.com
[select legal opinions & journals before searching. Important: set Library Links to Towson, in Preferences]