Research Guides: ART 498: BFA Project: Cook Library Research Databases

Cook Library Research Databases

The term "article" may be used to describe a variety of sources: scholarly articles (also called peer-reviewed articles), magazine articles, newspaper articles, book reviews, trade publications, and more. For your research, you will want to focus primarily on scholarly or peer-reviewed resources.

Evaluation of your source list will help you narrow a large number of sources to a more concentrated list of articles. If using an EBSCO database, use the left-hand limiters to narrow by date, type, and subject.

Need help? Contact me or any librarian via chat, e-mail. phone, or in person.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications. Multidisciplinary subject coverage, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, and ethnic studies.
Art Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An abstracted index to over 300 titles in art and art history, photography, sculpture, architecture, graphic design, film and television, museum studies, interior design, and related fields.
Dissertations and Theses: Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository which provides long-term preservation and access services for content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. The repository includes digitized and fully searchable online copies of public domain and in-copyright books and other publications.
Humanities Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal citations and abstracts for archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature.
IBA: International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship on European art from late antiquity to the present; American art from the colonial era to the present; and global art since 1945, including the visual arts in all media. Covers 500 core journals plus monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital image archive of over 450 core scholarly journals in JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV collections. Coverage begins with the first volume and issue of the title. Articles contain full text plus graphics, charts, tables etc.

Ask a Librarian

ART 498: BFA Project

Cook Library Research Databases