Research Guides: Accessibility Information for E-Resources: E-Resources Accessibility Information

Accessibility Team

This guide created and maintained by the Cook Accessibility Team:

Brittni Ballard, co-lead (LIT)
Elisabeth White, co-lead (R&I)
David Bauer (Content Management)
Krystin Fields (LIT)
Bill Helman (LIT)
Soo-yeon Hwang (CODS)
Genevieve Rico (Admin)

Please contact us with suggestions or questions about the organization and content of this guide!

Need Help? Ask a Librarian!

If you need help now, try our chat service during open chat hours. You can also email, text, or call us directly. If you need help with a specific assignment or course, connect with the librarian for that subject.

Library E-Resources Accessibility

This page provides details about the accessibility of the databases and other e-resources of Cook Library. The entries below list accessibility information about our third-party vendors, and are arranged alphabetically by vendor platforms. Links to VPAT's (Voluntary Product Accessibility Templates), accessibility statements and navigational aids are provided when available.

If you encounter an inaccessible resource, please submit an e-resource feedback form.

ABC-CLIO

Email TechSupport@abc-clio.com for more information.

ABC-CLIO Databases

ABC-CLIO eBOOK Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text electronic access to encyclopedias, handbooks, and biographical works in all academic subjects. Terms and Conditions
Praeger Security International This link opens in a new window
Weekly updates on terrorism and security from varied perspectives--psychologists, diplomats, economists, journalists, legal experts and more. Combines expert commentary with full text of more than 600 print titles. Terms and Conditions

Ability Lab

Rehabilitation Measures Database Accessibility

Rehabilitation Measure Database This link opens in a new window
With over 400 measures, tests, tools, and more, the Rehabilitation Measure Database (RMD) is the go-to resource for benchmarks and outcomes.

Accessible Archives

Accessible Archives Statement under FAQs

Accessible Archive Databases

Adam Matthew Digital

Adam Matthew Platform Accessibility
VPAT for AM White Label Collection
Includes all AM Databases offered at Cook Library except 'Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice.'
VPAT for AM Quartex Collection
Includes the database 'Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice.'

Adam Matthew Digital Databases

Alexander Street Press

Alexander Street Press Databases

Databases TBD

Association for Computing Machinery

Email dl-team@hq.acm.org if you have any accessibility barriers to report.

Contact the account manager to receive a copy of the VPAT.

ACM Digital Library Accessibility Documentation

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use ACM's Digital Library to search the full text of ACM's online journals, magazines and conference proceedings. The database also includes the Encyclopedia of Computer Science, which is a great resource for background information on various computer science topics and concepts. Terms and Conditions

Bloomsbury

Email bdraccessibility@bloomsbury.com for further assistance or to acquire the VPAT for the Aurora Metro Books and Nick Hearn Books Modern Plays databases. Alternatively, use the Contact Us form and select 'Access or Technical Problem' from the Inquiry drop-down.

Bloomsbury Accessibility

Aurora Metro Books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Accessible via the Drama Online platform, this collection has over 125 contemporary plays and places particular emphasis on women's drama, international drama, drama in translation, and works by black and Asian writers.
Nick Hern Books Modern Plays This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available on the Drama Online platform, the Nick Hern Books Modern Plays collection includes over 750 plays from many of the UK and Ireland’s preeminent playwrights, as well as exciting new voices. It offers a wide and varied range of award-winning and widely studied plays and is continually updated with new works fresh from leading theatres.

Cabells

Cabells Accessibility VPAT - Word document
Cabells Support Page
There is no accessibility policy, but help can be found at this link or by reaching out to sales@cabells.com.

Cabells Journalytics This link opens in a new window
Identify appropriate venues for your research within the disciplines of Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, Marketing, Educational Curriculum & Methods, Educational Psychology & Administration, and Educational Technology & Library Science. Search by topic or journal title and filter results as desired. Access to the business disciplines is funded by the College of Business and Economics. Access to the education disciplines is funded through the College of Education’s annual library acquisitions allocation.
Cabells Predatory Reports This link opens in a new window
A directory of journals that are published using questionable, suspicious, or objectively deceitful and dishonest strategies.

Cambridge University Press

To report accessibility obstacles with Cambridge Companions Online, email accessibility@cambridge.org or call at +44 (0) 1223 358331.

Cambridge Accessibility Documentation
Accessible Format Request Form
If a publication is not available in an accessible format, users can request that Cambridge provide one.

Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, composers, musical genres, topics, and periods.

Center for Research Libraries

CRL Accessibility Statement
Contact WebSystems@crl.edu to receive accessibility assistance.

Center for Research Libraries Databases

Chadwyck-Healey

Chadwyck-Healey Databases

Cornell University

Birds of the World Web Accessibility Contact
Must submit this form to acquire accessibility assistance.

Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Birds of the World (BOW) content is written by ornithologists all over the world and amassed from four major celebrated works of ornithology: Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World. This resource is hosted online by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology.

Directory of Open Access Books

DOAB VPAT Download

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of open access eBooks available as free PDF downloads, covering a range of disciplines. All books included in this directory go through a peer review process. Many items are in English, but a number of other languages are represented as well. Terms and Conditions

Directory of Open Access Journals

Email helpdesk@doaj.org for accessibility assistance.

DOAJ Accessibility Statement

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of scholarly and scientific journals that are available open access, without cost to users or their institutions. Users may read, download, copy, distribute, print, search or link to the full texts of these articles. The journal must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included in the database.

Dow Jones

Direct questions to Accessibility@dowjones.com.

Dow Jones Accessibility Statement

Factiva This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international news, company information, and market data. Create custom company reports.

EBSCO Databases

Request EBSCO Databases VPAT by emailing accessibility@ebsco.com

EBSCO Databases

EBSCO eBooks

Request EBSCO eBooks VPAT by emailing accessibility@ebsco.com

EBSCO eBook Databases

Elsevier

To request VPATs for other databases or acquire assistance, email accessibility@elsevier.com.

Elsevier Databases

Emerald

Emerald Publishing Accessibility Statement
Request VPAT or further assistance by emailing support@emerald.com.

Emerald This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This platform provides access to high-quality, impactful journals, books, and case studies on a variety of subjects within business, finance, tourism, marketing, and health and social care.

Gale Cengage

Gale Platform Accessibility Policy
Gale Cengage VPAT Database
VPATs for Gale Directory Library, Gale eBooks, Gale In-Context: Biography, and Gale Literature found here.

Gale Cengage Databases

HathiTrust

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository which provides long-term preservation and access services for content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. The repository includes digitized and fully searchable online copies of public domain and in-copyright books and other publications.

IEEE Xplore

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
It is a digital library providing full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.

IMAIOS

e-Anatomy This link opens in a new window
e-Anatomy is an award-winning interactive atlas of human anatomy. It is the most complete reference of human anatomy available on web, iPad, iPhone and android devices. Explore over 6700 anatomic structures and more than 670 000 translated medical labels. Images in: CT, MRI, Radiographs, Anatomic diagrams and nuclear images. Available in 11 languages. Some free images.

Infobase

Films on Demand Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group both on and off-campus. This collection includes more than 30,000 educational titles in the humanities & social sciences; science; business and economics; and health.
Nursing Videos This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
It is a collection of nursing instruction and technique videos and audio covering a range of topics such as nursing skills, patient care and interventions, diseases, disorders and disabilities, nursing foundations, and other special topics in nursing.

IPA Source

IPA Source Accessibility Statement

Submit accessibility concerns via the form on IPA Source's Contact Us page.

JSTOR

IPA Source This link opens in a new window
IPA Source contains the International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts, with over 4585 texts including 752 aria texts.

Kanopy

Contact feedback@overdrive.com to acquire accessibility assistance.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a film streaming service, offering over 12,000 streaming films from over 30 suppliers, with new films added daily. This database includes films from the Criterion Collection, PBS, Psychotherapy.net, New Day Films, and many others.

Lexis Nexis

Lexis Nexis Accessibility Statement

Contact accessibility@lexisnexis.com for support.

LexisNexis Academic This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis Academic includes full text newspapers, company news and financial information, as well as federal, state, and international legal materials. Also contains some medical and reference sources.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni includes full text newspapers, company news and financial information, as well as federal, state, and international legal materials. Also contains some medical and reference sources.

Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research

Mayo Clinic: Diseases and Conditions This link opens in a new window
A health library from the Mayo Clinic with summaries of information on health conditions.

McGraw Hill

Contact accessibility@mheducation.com for help with the AccessMedicine database.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine is a subscription-based resource that features leading medical content, plus multimedia, self-assessment, algorithms, case studies, and more.

MIT Press

MIT Direct to Open This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The MIT Press ebook collection offers a vast selection of more than 3,000 titles across various disciplines such as art, business, design, game studies, linguistics, neuroscience, philosophy, social sciences, and technology. This collection also includes the open access titles supported by the Direct to Open (D2O) program.

Naxos Digital Services

Contact Customer.Service@Naxos.com to submit feedback or request assistance.

Naxos Accessibility Statement

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
The Naxos Music Library has 87,000 cd tracks for online listening, including the complete Naxos classical, jazz, world-music and historical releases, plus the complete Marco Polo, Da Capo catalogues.
Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library Jazz offers streaming music of both jazz legends and contemporary jazz, including over 320 independent labels such as ARC, Berlin Classics, Marco Polo, Nimbus, and others. The database includes over 4000 CDs, with new selected titles from leading independent labels added each month.

New York Times

New York Times – Current (Pawprints Collegiate Readership Program) This link opens in a new window
Provided by Towson University Offices of Civic Engagement & Social Responsibility, Housing & Residence Life, and Student Government Association. Visit this portal to create and access your subscription to The New York Times using your TU credentials and email address. After creating/renewing your account, you should be able to log in directly through The New York Times using your email address and password. Overview of available features.

Newsbank

Contact custservice@newsbank.com to receive help, provide feedback, or request VPATs for the Black Life in America and the Access World News databases.

Newsbank Accessibility Information

Black Life In America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From the early days of slavery to modern times, people of African descent have had a profound impact on American history. This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. The content in this database is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. It covers from the early 18th century to the early 21st –from pre-Revolution America to the modern era.
Newsbank Access World News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank is an e-resource that consolidates current and archived information in fully searchable databases comprised of more than 5,000 newspaper titles, as well as newswires, Web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.

OCLC

Email accessibility@oclc.org to receive a copy of the ACR. Questions, concerns and requests for support can also be directed here.

OCLC Accessibility Policy

OCLC Databases

Oxford University Press

Oxford African American Studies Center VPAT PDF
Oxford African American Studies Center Accessibility Statement
Oxford Art Online/Oxford Music Online VPAT PDF
Oxford Art Online Accessibility Statement
Oxford Music Online Accessibility Statement
Oxford English Dictionary Accessibility Statement
Oxford Reference VPAT PDF
Oxford Reference Accessibility Statement
Oxford Academic VPAT PDF
Oxford Academic Accessibility Statement
For databases 'Oxford Scholarship Online' and 'Very Short Introductions.'

Oxford University Press Databases

PEDro

PEDro Accessibility Statement

Use the Contact Us form to request accessibility assistance.

PEDro This link opens in a new window
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database, a free database of over 47,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality.

Project MUSE

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Towson subscribes to the Standard Collection, which offers a collection of multidisciplinary journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.

ProQuest Databases

Receive support online at Submit a Support Case or at Chat with Support.
In the United States & Canada, call +1 800 889 3358
For international, call +800 4997 4111 or +1 734-707-2513

ProQuest Databases

Rittenhouse Book Distributor

R2 Digital Library VPAT PDF

R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The R2 Digital Library from Rittenhouse is a web-based e-book platform that aggregates book content from key health science publishers. Cook Library has access to over 600 titles in the R2 Digital Library's Nursing, Allied Health, and Exercise Science collections.

Sage Publishing

For accessibility assistance or to request any database VPATs, contact online.accessiblity@sagepub.com.

Sage Publishing Databases

SBRNet

Sports Market Analytics
Accessibility documentation can be found at the bottom right corner of the browser. Select the orange, person-shaped icon to read more and make adjustments.

SBRnet: Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new window
News and market research for the sporting goods and sports marketing industries.
Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
News and market research for the sporting goods and sports marketing industries.

Springer Nature

Springer Nature Databases

Swank Motion Pictures

Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital Campus, from Swank Motion Pictures, allows you to legally stream theatrical motion pictures for educational purposes. The films available on the Digital Campus home page have been requested by TU faculty and licensed by the library for a single year. Please note that you must use the latest version of either Google Chrome or Firefox to stream from Digital Campus; Internet Explorer is NOT compatible with this platform.

Taylor & Francis

Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series, and includes economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions.

TeachingBooks

TeachingBooks offers a few avenues to communicate feedback about their database.

Email: accounts@TeachingBooks.net [NOTE: Please use "Accessibility comment" in the subject line of your email]
Mail: Attn: User Feedback, TeachingBooks, One OverDrive Way, Cleveland, Ohio 44125 USA
Phone: 216-573-6886 (Option 2)

TeachingBooks This link opens in a new window
TeachingBooks includes thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities. To make a personal account for creating booklists and saving resources, click Educator Login and sign up with your student or faculty e-mail.

The National Library/National Library of Israel

To submit feedback or request help, contact Rivka Shwicky at 074-733-6162 or rivka.shveiky@nli.org.il.

RAMBI This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly articles covering all fields of Jewish Studies, as well as the study of the State of Israel. Entries are collected from thousands of journals and books and appear in their original language of publication. This database includes both periodical articles and book chapters.
Historical Jewish Press This link opens in a new window
Contains a digitized collection of full-text Jewish newspapers from around the world from the 18th century onward. Partners in this project to digitize Jewish newspapers are Tel Aviv University and the National Library of Israel.

Towson University

Towson Accessibility Statement
Cook Library Accessibility Statement
Goin Global Accessibility Statement
To get help or submit feedback, contact Customer Service by calling 614.516.8083 or emailing customerservice@goinglobal.com.

Digital Special Collections & University Archives This link opens in a new window
The Towson University Special Collections and University Archives department created these digital collections, which represent a portion of the material available in our holdings. Collections include complete runs of student newspapers, yearbooks, course catalogs, and historic university photographs. More items will be added as digitization efforts continue.

In these historic archives you may encounter words, images or other language used that were reflective of the tenor of our nation, and thus university, at that time in history. Those images may be disturbing and offensive, as they reflect the prejudice of the time. However, they do not reflect Towson University’s values and our commitment toward building a welcoming, diverse and inclusive campus that supports all the members of our community to thrive, regardless of their race, religion, ethnicity, gender identity, sexual orientation or levels of ableness.
Going Global This link opens in a new window
Want to work or intern abroad? Are you an international student looking for a job in the United States? Preparing to study abroad? Going Global includes worldwide job/internship postings, country career guides, database of H1B Visa employers, and more. Login with TU NetID and password. Brought to you by the Towson University Career Center.

U.S. Government

Agricola Web Accessibility Statement
USDA Accessibility Statement
USDA Ask a Question Form
Use this link or call 301-504-5755 to request accessibility assistance and submit feedback.
Call 202-720-2600 (Voice/TTY) or email target-center@usda.gov to request alternative formats.
CDC Wonder Accessibility Contact
Drugs@FDA Accessibility Statement
Explore Census Data Accessibility Resources
Library of Congress Accessibility Information
Includes information for both the Congress.gov and National Jukebox: Historical Recordings databases.
MedlinePlus Accessibility Statement
National Bureau of Economic Research Contact
Reach out to NBER with accessibility questions, comments, and concerns via email at webaccessibility@nber.org.
National Guideline Clearing House Accessibility Statement
National Institute of Health Accessibility Information
National Library of Medicine Accessibility Statement
Includes the databases NCBI Bookshelf, PubMed, and PubMed Central.
National Rehabilitation Information Center Website
Office of Dietary Supplements Accessibility Statement
U.S. Trademark Database Accessibility Information

U.S. Government Databases

University of California, Riverside

If you have any questions or suggestions regarding the accessibility of the English Short-Title Catalog database, please reach out to webaccessbility@ucr.edu.

ESTC: English Short Title Catalogue This link opens in a new window
ESTC is a bibliographic database containing records for items printed in England or in any of England's dependencies, 1473-1800. Currently, it contains about 469,000 items. Appended to each record is a list of libraries which have reported holding a copy of the item described. Updated daily. Coverage from the earliest Caxton incunabulum (1473) through the last item printed in 1800.

University of Toronto Libraries

Anatomia - University of Toronto Libraries Accessibility Information

Anatomia This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From the University of Toronto, the Anatomia Collection contains approximately 4500 illustrations of the human anatomy which are contained within published books, often historical in nature.

Wiley

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource gives current electronic content from 2004 forward to 11 peer reviewed journals published by the AAA, and a complete full-text archive of all peer-reviewed journals, newsletters and bulletins published by the AAA through 2003.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley's platform for journals, books, and reference resources in a wide range of subject areas. It contains indexing, abstracts, and tables of contents for over 1,500 journals and over 20,000 ebooks. Terms and Conditions

Vendors/Databases with No Accessibility Documentation

Advertising Age
American Chemical Society
- ACS Online Journals
- ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
- SciFinder-n
Anatomy Atlases
Anthology of Recorded Music - DRAM Online
Art Song Transpositions Publications
AASHE (Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education)
Baltimore Sun
Bar llan University - Responsa Project
Biblical Archaeology Society, Online Archive
BioOne
Britannica - Image Quest
Creative Commons - eSkeletons
Data Axle
EastView - Global Press Archive
ETS
Euromonitor International - Passport
Faulkner
- FAITS Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies
- Security Management Practices
GeoScience World
Goethe University Frankfurt - Compact Memory
Google Scholar
IBIS World
Inner Body Research - Anatomy Explorer
Inter-Parliamentary Union - Women in Politics Bibliographic Database
Jewish Telegraphy Agency - JTA: Jewish News Archive
Johns Hopkins University - Health Library: Conditions and Diseases
JoVE
- JoVE Core
- JoVE Lab Manual
- JoVE Science Education - Chemistry
- JoVE Science Education - Physics
- JoVE Science Education - Psychology
- JoVE Science Education Unlimited
ListPartners - Winmo (Red Books)
Maryland State Library - Depository Publications
Merck & Co. - Merck Manuals
Mergent Online
MRI Simmons
National Dance Education Organization - Dance Education Literature and Research Descriptive Index
New Play Exchange
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development - OED Economic Surveys
OTseeker
Ovid - Ovid Journals: Nursing Collection
Policy Map
S&P Global Marketing Intelligence - NetAdvantage
SpeechBITE
Stanford Medicine - Bassett Collection of Stereoscopic Images from Lane Medical Library
Statista
the Getty - Bibliography of the History of Art and RILA
Thieme - MedOne ComSci
Trip Database
University of Southern California - Orthopaedic Surgical Anatomy Teaching Collection
University of Washington - Muscle Atlas
University of Wisconsin-Madison - PrimateLit
University System of Maryland and Affiliated Institutions Library Consortium - Maryland SOAR
Value Line - Investment Survey, Standard Edition
Wolters Kluwer - CCH IntelliConnect/AnswerConnect

U.S. Government Databases with no Accessibility Documentation

Acknowledgements

This page has been adapted from the Library E-Resources Accessibility Guide at the St. Joseph's University Network.