Research Guides: KNES 469: Research Methods in Exercise Science: Articles

Getting Full Text Articles

If you do not see a full text article link look for the button in order to:

Access online full text (when available)
See if the journal is available in print (library catalog)
Request a pdf of the article if full text is not available online (Interlibrary Loan)

If you have the citation for the article you are trying to access, search the Journal List to check if the library subscribes to your specific article.

Research & Instruction Librarian

Lisa Sweeney

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Cook Library
8000 York Rd
Towson, MD 21252

ssweeney@towson.edu

410-704-5325

Subjects: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Family Science, Kinesiology, Physical Education, Sociology

Find Articles

Most all of the articles indexed in the databases below are from peer reviewed journals and would be where you would expect to find primary research published. See also the list of databases that can be searched for free under Open Access Resources below.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, including many related to exercise science. This database also contains author affiliations, searchable cited references, research instruments, evidence-based care sheets, and quick lessons & search strategies.
Cook OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Find books, articles, media, government information, and other library resources all in one place. Search what Towson owns as well as resources at other USMAI Libraries. Cook OneSearch is especially helpful in locating an article you have identified from a References list. Paste the title into the search box. If we don't have full text access to the article, you will have the opportunity to request it using the find it button.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a biomedical literature database that focuses on drugs and pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine, and basic science relevant to clinical medicine. The database contains journal articles, conference papers, abstracts and reports in biomedicine dating back to 1947. It includes over 44 million citations and over 3,000 journals not included in PubMed.
Health Source- Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 520 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 550 journals.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Access to this abstracted index is through the Ebsco interface. The index is to published research in all areas of medicine and the health sciences including clinical medicine, nursing, psychiatry, dentistry, pathology, toxicology, nutrition, health care planning and administration, veterinary science, medical education, etc.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed includes more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Using the Cook Library link increases access to full text articles.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
As an integrated part of SciVerse, Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track analyze and visualize research. Subject coverage of life sciences (> 4,300 titles), physical sciences, health sciences (> 6,800 titles. 100% Medline coverage), and social science and humanities (> 5,300 titles).
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic and full text database covering both serial and monographic literature on sports, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, and kinesiology. This database provides full text for more than 440 journals, with full-text coverage dating back to 1985.
Sports Medicine and Education Index This link opens in a new window
This database provides specialized resources critical to researchers with an academic, professional or personal interest in the field of physical education. Through scholarly and trade literature, the database covers a wide range of topics, ranging from physical and health education to fitness and recreation and the business of sports, as well as kinesiology, physical therapy, motor learning, and sport sociology and psychology

Open Access Resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of full-text, open access journal literature in medicine, biology and the life sciences.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar enables users to search for scholarly literature from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, repositories and universities. Use Google Scholar to find journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, technical reports and preprints on the web. Access to the full text of articles in some peer-reviewed publications may be limited.
Public Library of Science (PLOS) | Medicine
"PLOS Medicine publishes articles on biomedical, environmental, social and political determinants of human health worldwide. The journal accepts a variety of study designs including clinical trials, observational studies, diagnostic and prognostic tools, epidemiology, predictive and explanatory modeling, qualitative studies and clinically oriented translational research."
BioMed Central
"Dedicated to open research, we now publish over 290 quality peer-reviewed journals in Biology, Clinical Medicine and Health."

Finding Articles from a Citation

Use the "Journal List" to find a specific journal or article

In the journal list, search for the name of the journal
Date ranges show the time span the journal is available in a particular location (e.g., a specific database or on the shelf at the library)

The "Journal List" is also available from the library's homepage.

Ask a Librarian

KNES 469: Research Methods in Exercise Science

Getting Full Text Articles

Research & Instruction Librarian

Find Articles

Open Access Resources

Finding Articles from a Citation