Research Guides: MNGT 361: Leadership &amp; Management (Zuccaro: Government): Government Resources

Business & Economics Librarian

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

sgass@towson.edu

410-704-2395

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Human Resource Development, Management, Marketing

Trends & Best Practices

Check out white papers from the government divisions of major consulting companies to find out about relevant trends and best practices in government work:

Welcome!

Welcome to the research guide for MNGT 361! These resources should help you research individual government agencies and the public sector for the semester team project, as well as blockchain applications.

For resources on the AI and cybersecurity projects, see the general MNGT 361 guide.

Research in a new area can be challenging!

Get a basic familiarity with the terminology, company and industry, so you can get to the juicy questions fast, and understand the answers.
Find what you can on the company, its products, and industry. You will need to use multiple tools and sources to do so.
Contact me if I can be of assistance at any stage of your research or if you have a library question.

-Shana G. the Biz Librarian

Government Agency Background

Be sure to look at the agency's own websites: look for About Us section

Federal Regulatory Guide
Overview of what each regulatory agency does, history, glossary, partners, relevant legislation.

U.S. Government Manual
Search for the name of an agency and get contact info; key personnel's names and titles; overview of important actions, involvements, responsibilities; and additional sources of information.
Nexis Uni: Hoover's In-Depth Company Records
This resource covers U.S. government agencies as well as major public & private companies!

Step 1: Select Publication under "What are you interested in"
Step 2: Type the company name for "Search for something specific"
Step 3: Type/select Hoover's Company Records - In-Depth Records as Publication
...before searching, to locate useful background info.

Context & Trends

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Background on a different issue each week. Many of the issues relate to the work of different US government agencies. Sample issues: US Trade Policy, Social Security, College Debt
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for background in this collection of online encyclopedias. Sample publication: Government & the Economy covers a number of agencies

Your Agency in the News

News & Newspapers, Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from the Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. A search of just these major U.S. papers will save you considerable time for the more prominent agencies.
Washington Post: Current Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

US & international news databases:

Nexis Uni: News Search

Factiva This link opens in a new window
PROTIP: Select your agency using the Company tag below the big search box.

If you select tag(s) you do not need to have any search words in the search box (unless you want them!)
Newsbank Access World News This link opens in a new window

PROTIP: for Factiva, NewsBank, and Nexis Uni databases, in addition to newspaper articles, you'll also find:

press releases from government agencies (sample sources: US Fed News, State News Service)
government publications/documents (sample sources: Federal Register, Congressional Documents & Publications)
press releases from for-profit companies (sample sources: PR Newswire, Business Wire)

Not sure what kind of document you're looking at? The Business & Economics Librarian is happy to help you figure it out

Going Deeper: Articles from Journals, Magazines, and Trade Publications

Business Source Complete + Military & Government Collection (combo search)
Find articles from key business and government publications in one quick search. Includes magazines, trade publications (industry & professional magazines), news, scholarly journals and government documents.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General database featuring magazines, trade publications & scholarly journals across all subject areas. Use this to find articles in additional fields such as politics, history, health sciences, etc.

Ask a Librarian

MNGT 361: Leadership & Management (Zuccaro: Government)