Research Guides: OCTH 782: Research Practicum (Heffron): Article Databases

Head of Library Teaching

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Email: ebwhite@towson.edu

Phone: (410) 704-8026

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science/Studies, Forensic Chemistry, Math Education, Mathematics, MB3, Research Impact, Research Metrics, Science Education

Scopus This link opens in a new window
One of the most comprehensive databases we have at Cook! Commonly associated with the sciences but contains materials from other disciplines, too.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Scholarly article database with multidisciplinary subject coverage.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of articles in the arts and sciences; tends to work better for older information compared to recent materials.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedical database run by National Institute of Health.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Smaller portion of PubMed that is searchable through EBSCO.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Biomedical database that is focused on drugs, devices, and clinical medicine.
OTseeker This link opens in a new window
Database focused on occupational therapy interventions.
RehabData by NARIC This link opens in a new window
Open access database focused on disability and rehabilitation research.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health literature.
Health Source- Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Broad-focused health science database.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Database run by American Psychological Association; good for topics that touch on mental health and well-being.

Art Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains articles about the visual arts, museum studies, interior design, and related fields.
Humanities Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles from a broad range of subjects in the humanities, including performing arts, music, film, art, religion, and literature.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from newspapers, trade publications, magazines, and scholarly journals on all aspects of business
International Business Online This link opens in a new window
Book chapters and case studies on business; international in scope.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research in communications and mass media.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Computer science and electrical engineering database; good for researching specific technologies.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Articles, magazines, and conference proceedings in computer science.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Good general science and technology database but doesn't lend itself well to complex searches.

Best Bet: Selected Education Databases (EBSCO)
Searches Education Research Complete; Professional Development Collection; Communication & Mass Media Complete; SocINDEX with Full Text; PsycINFO. Click Choose Databases to remove or add databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education literature database run by the US Department of Education.

Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Primary sources, including videos, about disability history and disability studies.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Contains peer reviewed articles and other forms of scholarship; useful for finding grey literature.
Cook OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Searches almost everything in the library collection; good for finding a variety of source types and assessing what's out there.