Research Guides: POSC 101: Introduction to Political Science: Politics and Public Policy

Politics, Public Policy, and the George W. Bush Administration

Read analysis and discussion of issues related to politics, public policy, and the Bush Administration in the sources listed below.

The Patriot Act | Introducing Issues with Opposing Viewpoints
From the publisher: Presents differing views on whether the Patriot Act protects national security, violates civil liberties, and whether it should or should not be expanded.
What is the USA PATRIOT Act? | Department of Justice
Highlights of the USA PATRIOT Act from the Department of Justice. Use the menu on the left side of the page to get to the full text of the law.
The 9/11 Commission report: final report of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks upon the United States
The official Government edition of the Final Report of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States provides a full and complete account of the circumstances surrounding the September 11th, 2001, terrorist attacks.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher, published by CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Press, reports a current social issue each week. Reports are approximately 20 pages long and provide background information, important points to consider, charts and graphs, and a source list for further reading.

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Print encyclopedia with entries on civil liberties, right to privacy, democracy, social compact, and sovereignty available in Towson University Reference KF4548 .E53 2000
Encyclopedia of United States National Security by Richard J. Samuels (Editor)
Includes entries on George W. Bush and the Bush Doctrine.
The Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America by David Schultz; John R. Vile (Editor)
Print encyclopedia with entries on civil liberties, democracy, Homeland Security Act, liberty vs. license, Locke, Patriot Act, and rights of aliens available in Towson University Stacks: JC599.U5 E53 2005
Encyclopedia of Governance by Mark W. Bevir (Editor)
Topics related to the changing nature and role of the state in recent times and the ways in which these roles have been conceptualized in the areas of Political Science, Public Administration, Political Economy, and Sociology.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History by Donald T. Critchlow (Contribution by); Philip R. VanderMeer (Contribution by); Paul Boyer
Comprehensive coverage of political and legal history in the United States.