Research Guides: PSYC 213: Research Design and Statistical Analysis in Psychology: Scholarly Databases

Getting Full Text Articles

If you do not see a way to download or view a pdf or html file of an article you may see a yellow icon with the words "find it":

Follow the icon in order to:

Access online full text (when available)
See if the journal is available in print (library catalog)
Request a free pdf of the article if full text is not available online (Interlibrary loan)

If you have the citation for the article you are trying to access, you can also search the Journal List to check if the library subscribes to your specific article.

Need Help?

Cook Library has experienced librarians and library assistants ready to help, no matter where you are!

chat loading...

Text message: 410-774-1398

Phone: 410-704-2462

You can also:

Psychology Databases

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES is an online database covering general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. Over 25,000 full-text articles are available from 42 journals published by American Psychological Association, Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The APA journals offer full-text articles from 1988 to the present with earlier years currently in production.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods, including full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
PTSD Pubs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, PTSD Pubs database provides citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder and other mental-health related traumatic events, including assessment, description, prevention, or treatment of any psychiatric disorder such as dissociative identity disorder, other dissociative disorders, and borderline personality.

Other Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also has tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications. Multidisciplinary subject coverage, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, and ethnic studies.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables users to search for scholarly literature from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, repositories and universities. Use Google Scholar to find journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, technical reports and preprints on the web.

Accessing Articles Later

If you find an article that you would like to come back to, do not copy and paste the URL from the top of your web browser. Database URLs change frequently as articles are added and removed, so the URL you copy may not work later. The safest option is always to find and download the PDF and save it in a safe place. However, you can also create a permalink, which is a stable URL that will work for you later.

Creating permalinks in Cook OneSearch or an EBSCO database is easy: on the article page, look under the Tools column on the right and click on the word permalink. Then, copy and paste the URL it creates into a safe place.

Other databases may not have a permalink icon for you. If you find an article and you don't see an option to save a permalink, you can use the Cook Library's Proxy Builder to create your stable URL. Copy and paste your URL into the first box, and a stable URL will be created for you in the second box.

Ask a Librarian

PSYC 213: Research Design and Statistical Analysis in Psychology

Getting Full Text Articles

Need Help?

Psychology Databases

Other Databases

Accessing Articles Later