Research Guides: TSEM 102: Earth’s Changing Climate (Couch): Background Reading

Head of Library Teaching

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Email: ebwhite@towson.edu

Phone: (410) 704-8026

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science/Studies, Forensic Chemistry, Math Education, Mathematics, MB3, Research Impact, Research Metrics, Science Education

Benefits of Background Reading

When you research any topic, background reading helps you get acquainted with it. Background resources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other resources. These provide a basic overview of key concepts associated with your topic. Background research will help you...

Better understand your topic and pick out key words that you can use to search for your topic in a database;
Identify important concepts and areas of research related to your topic, thus to refine your topic to a manageable scope.

Background Databases

Cook Library provides access to several databases containing encyclopedia articles and other general sources. These are an excellent place to start your research.

Gale eBooks
Selected titles. Gale eBooks provides access to encyclopedias and other reference works covering education, law, world biography, business, economics, other cultures, public health, and more. Terms and Conditions
Oxford Reference
Database of Oxford University Press's scholarly reference titles on climate change as it relates to the social sciences, including Oxford Companion to American Politics, Oxford Companion to International Relations, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of American Business, Labor, and Economic History.
Sage Knowledge
SAGE Knowledge is a searchable collection of thousands of selected ebooks and over 60 encyclopedias and reference works covering many subjects, including business and management, criminal justice, education, family studies, politics, and many others, and provides unlimited, site-wide use. Terms and Conditions.

Books and eBooks

You can also find background information on particular topics in print books and electronic books at the Cook Library. A few examples of books that may be relevant to your research in this course are listed below. You can find others through Cook OneSearch.