Research Guides: TSEM 190: Using American Water (Cooney): Research Resources

Research & Instruction Department

Cook Library Research & Instruction

Contact:

410-704-2462

Some Questions to Ask about Sources

Who wrote this source? What is the nature of their expertise?
Where was this source published? Who reads this source?
What evidence is used in this source?
Is this source timely enough for my needs?

What Are Sources Good For?

Think not just about the quality of your sources, but HOW you are going to use a source.

One framework for this is called the BEAM Method (standing for: Background, Exhibit, Argument, Method).

Hunter College has a useful guide to BEAM

Welcome!

Welcome to the research guide for Prof. Cooney's TSEM on Water!

As your librarian, I'm here to answer any questions you might have as you embark on college research. There are a lot of different ways to look at the general topic for the course, and the tools, techniques, and sources you choose will depend on your angle and specific research question.

I'm always happy to advise at any stage of your research! Email me, at ajenningsroche@towson.edu

Research Session Slides

Slides for Library Research Day

Background Information

SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of subject-specific encyclopedias. Topics include the environment, sociology, business, and more
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected titles. Gale eBooks provides access to encyclopedias and other reference works covering education, law, world biography, business, economics, other cultures, public health, and more. Terms and Conditions
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Gives background on a different topic every week. Focus is on broad US social or political importance.

Key Websites

EPA Water Portal
US Environmental Protection Agency site for the public.
NOAA Water
"In the United States and around the world, water security is increasingly in jeopardy. Too much water, too little water, or water of poor quality can endanger life, property, economies and ecosystems."
From the NOAA website
Science.gov
Science.gov searches for federally funded scientific research from a wide variety of sources.
HDgov Human Dimensions
"HDgov is a multi-agency website for all things human dimensions of natural resources.
The web portal is developed to reduce the time required to find interagency resources and has a strong focus on the application of social science concepts, methods, and information. The use of nontechnical language makes content accessible to all users regardless of background. The information on the site is also a helpful resource for current studies and collaboration for both students and researchers."
Maryland Geological Survey: Groundwater
An agency of the Maryland Department of Natural Resources. "The Hydrogeology and Hydrology Program, in cooperation with the U.S. Geological Survey, is responsible for the maintenance of a statewide water-data network, as well as the investigation of hydrologic and geologic characteristics of Maryland water resources."

Searching for Books

Finding Books Using Cook OneSearch
This video demonstrates how to find books using Cook OneSearch.

Cook OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find books, articles, media, government information, and other library resources all in one place. Search what Towson owns as well as resources at other USMAI Libraries.

News

News & Newspapers, Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from the Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post
Newsbank Access World News This link opens in a new window
US and international news from newspapers, TV & radio transcripts, and newswires (news syndication services like AP & Reuters).

Scholarly Articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of core scholarly journals in a range of subject areas.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in environmental sciences and related fields. Also includes some general interest magazines and government documents and reports.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly articles across all fields. Note: Quality may vary. If you search through the library website, you'll get access to features for more easily locating the full text of the article.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in a wide range of subject areas. Also includes some news, magazines, and trade publications (industry/professional magazines).
Health Source- Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in medicine, nursing, and other health fields.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and books in sociology, the study of people in groups including society as a whole.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in business and economics. Also includes news, general magazines, trade publications (industry/professional magazines) and various reports.

Ask a Librarian

TSEM 190: Using American Water (Cooney)