Research Guides: TSEM 102: Getting Down to Business (Dukes): Starting Your Research

Business & Economics Librarian

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

sgass@towson.edu

410-704-2395

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Human Resource Development, Management, Marketing

Welcome to the research guide for your TSEM. It includes:

Ideas for selecting & refining a topic for your research paper
Background sources for business concepts/topics, companies, and industries
Databases for finding news and other types of articles on your topic
Resources for writing & citing
Contact info for the Business & Economics Librarian and Cook Library Research Help options

Hope this is helpful! Don't hesitate to reach out with any questions that come up as you continue your research

-Shana the Biz librarian

Interesting ...to YOU
Lends itself to building a case
Not too broad
Examples: social media, Amazon, XXX
Not too narrow / new
Examples: Dead Boy Detectives on Netflix, Samsung Galaxy 24 Ultra, how I was treated at the White Marsh Chick-Fil-A
Your topic can evolve as you research!

Your own experience as an employee, customer, or citizen
News sites/sources (example: Google News, CNN, Wall Street Journal)
Your coursework
Issues in your intended career
Industry/trade/professional association websites (try searching for the name of the industry/profession and the word organization)
Searching/browsing in library databases/materials

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher, published by CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Press, reports a current social issue each week. Reports are approximately 20 pages long and provide background information, important points to consider, charts and graphs, and a source list for further reading.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
SAGE Knowledge is a searchable collection of thousands of selected ebooks and over 60 encyclopedias and reference works covering many subjects, including business and management, criminal justice, education, family studies, politics, and many others, and provides unlimited, site-wide use. Terms and Conditions.

Statista This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international business statistics such as company market share and industry forecasts. Good coverage of e-commerce and digital markets along with other industries. Includes some public opinion statistics.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Trends, statistics, and analysis for a wide range of U.S. industries. Market size, performance, and outlook; top companies; SWOT and industry structure (Porter’s Five Forces); supply chain; industry ratios. Search by keyword or NAICS code.