Research Guides: TSEM 102: America in the 1960s (Mancini, Walter): Analyze Primary Sources

Digital Collections

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
A collection of digitized materials from libraries throughout the U.S.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digitized materials from the Library of Congress including letters, images, sounds, and other documents from American history.
The Whole World Was Watching: an oral history of 1968
Women’s Liberation Movement Print Culture
Manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s.

Primary Source Databases

Historical Newspapers
A collection of 40 historical newspapers, including domestic and international publications. Domestic publications include historical black and Jewish newspapers. Dates of coverage for individual newspapers vary, but the collection overall covers 1791-2016.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Database includes thematic timelines, primary source documents, and specially written commentaries on the personal and public histories of African Americans. Database access limited to 1 simultaneous user.
Race Relations in America
Sourced from the records of the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries, housed at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans, this resource provides access to a wealth of documents highlighting different responses to the challenges of overcoming prejudice, segregation and racial tensions. These range from survey material, including interviews and statistics, to educational pamphlets, administrative correspondence, and photographs and speeches from the Annual Race Relations Institutes.
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online
Includes nearly 4,000 collections of letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies, dating from 1675 to the present.
Women's Magazine Archive
An archival research resource with coverage from 184 to 2005 comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing.