Vancouver Style

Author names are listed as Last Name Initial without a common in between. Use a common to separate author names. List all authors in the order they appear on the title page. If a book contains editors but no author is listed, list the editors' names at the beginning of your citation, followed by a comma and the word "editors."

Capitalize on the first word and any proper nouns in the title of the book. Include [Internet] after the title of the book for eBooks.

For encyclopedia entries, the formatting depends on whether an author is listed for the individual entry or not. If an author is listed, treat the citation as you would a book chapter. If an author is not listed, provide the information about the book first and include the name of the entry immediately before the page number.

Omit any portion of your citation for which you do not have information. For example, if you are citing a book that does not have any editors, skip that part of the citation and adjust the surrounding punctuation accordingly.

Author Last Name Initial(s), Author Last Name Initial(s), ..., Author Last Name Initial(s). Title of book [Internet]. Edition. Editor Last Name Initial(s), editor. Place of Publication: Publisher; Year [cited Year Month Day]. Pages. Available from: URL or doi

Bitton G. Wastewater microbiology [Internet]. 4th ed. John Wiley & Sons; 2011 [cited 2021 Jun 29]. 804 p. Available from: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/towson/detail.action?docID=624479

Sodhi NS, Gibson L, Raven PH, editors. Conservation biology: voices from the tropics [Internet]. 1st ed. John Wiley & Sons; 2013 [cited 2021 June 29]. 290 p. Available from: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/towson/detail.action?docID=1273606

Author Last Name Initial(s), Author Last Name Initial(s), ..., Author Last Name Initial(s). Title of chapter. In: Editor Last Name Initial(s), editor. Title of book [Internet]. Place of Publication: Publisher; Year [cited Year Month Day]. Page range of chapter. Available from: URL or doi

Bawa KS. Knowledge, institutions, and human resources for conservation of biodiversity. In: Sodhi NS, Gibson L, Raven PH, editors. Conservation biology: voices from the tropics [Internet]. 1st ed. John Wiley & Sons; 2013 [cited 2021 June 29]. p. 226-31. Available from: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/towson/detail.action?docID=1273606

Author Last Name Initial(s), Author Last Name Initial(s), ..., Author Last Name Initial(s). Title of encyclopedia entry. In: Editor Last Name Initial(s), editor. Title of encyclopedia [Internet]. Place of Publication: Publisher; Year [cited Year Month Day]. Pages. Available from: URL or doi

Author Last Name Initial(s), Author Last Name Initial(s), ..., Author Last Name Initial(s). Title of encyclopedia [Internet]. Place of Publication: Publisher; Year [cited Year Month Day]. Title of encyclopedia entry; Pages. Available from: URL or doi

Thomas AD. Acid rain. In: Matthews JA, editor. Encyclopedia of environmental change [Internet]. SAGE Publications; 2014 [cited 2021 Jun 29]. p. 8. Available from: https://www.doi.org/10.4135/9781446247501.n43

Boslaugh S, editor. Encyclopedia of epidemiology [Internet]. SAGE Publications; 2016 [cited 2021 Jun 30]. Rural health issues; p. 924-6. Available from: http://dx.doi.org.proxy-tu.researchport.umd.edu/10.4135/9781412953948

Author Last Name Initial(s), Author Last Name Initial(s), ..., Author Last Name Initial(s). Title of book. Edition. Editor Last Name Initial(s), editor. Place of Publication: Publisher; Year. Pages.

Martin EW. Hazards of medication. 2nd ed. Ruskin A, Napke E, Alexander S, Kelsey FO, Farage DJ, Mills DH, Elkas RW, editors. Philadelphia: Lippincott; 1978. 686 p.

Author Last Name Initial(s), Author Last Name Initial(s), ..., Author Last Name Initial(s). Title of chapter. In: Editor Last Name Initial(s), editor. Title of book. Place of Publication: Publisher; Year. Page range of chapter.

Bush K. Other beta-lactam antibiotics. In: Finch RG, Greenwood D, Norrby SR, Whitley RJ, editors. Antibiotic and chemotherapy: anti-infective agents and their use in therapy. 8th ed. New York: Churchill Livingstone; 2003. p. 259-78.

Author Last Name Initial(s), Author Last Name Initial(s), ..., Author Last Name Initial(s). Title of encyclopedia entry. In: Editor Last Name Initial(s), editor. Title of encyclopedia. Edition. Volume. Place of Publication: Publisher; Year. Pages.

Author Last Name Initial(s), Author Last Name Initial(s), ..., Author Last Name Initial(s). Title of encyclopedia. Edition. Volume. Place of Publication: Publisher; Year. Title of encyclopedia entry; Pages.

Robinson A, Fridovich-Keil JL, Fridovich I. The principles of genetics and heredity. In: The new encyclopaedia Brittanica. 15th ed. Vol. 19. Chicago: Encyclopaedia Brittanica, Inc.; c2002. p. 699-740.

Turkington C, Tzeel A. The encyclopedia of children's health and wellness. New York: Facts on File, Inc.; c2004. Papilloma virus, human (HPV); p. 381-3.