Research Guides: History: Secondary Sources

Getting Full Text Articles

If you do not see a full text article link look for the button in order to:

Access online full text (when available)
See if the journal is available in print (library catalog)
Request a pdf of the article if full text is not available online (Interlibrary Loan)

If you have the citation for the article you are trying to access, search the Journal List to check if the library subscribes to your specific article.

Need a little more help?

Finding Books...

Finding Books Using Cook OneSearch
This video demonstrates how to find books using Cook OneSearch.

Finding Articles...

Finding Articles with Cook OneSearch
In this video, learn how to use Cook OneSearch to find articles.

Finding Secondary Sources

The most common sources you will want to use as secondary sources in history are peer-reviewed articles and books written by historians.

The books written by historians come in two primary categories:

monographs, by one to two people on a single subject, or
edited volumes, books edited by one to three people with chapters by multiple authors.

Finding Books

Cook OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
To specifically find books in Cook OneSearch, check "Books" on the left hand side of your search results, under "Format".
To specifically find books available at Towson, check "Towson University" under "Location".
WorldCat TU This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find books, articles, and media at TU and other libraries worldwide. If we have it, you can get it today. If we do not own an item, you can request it using Interlibrary Loan, and we will borrow it from another library.

Finding Articles

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The largest and most important database for US History. Has some overlap with JSTOR. Not all items are available full-text.
Cook OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IMPORTANT: To find "peer-reviewed" articles in Cook OneSearch and remove books from your search check the "peer-reviewed" box on the left-hand side of your search.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collected information and abstracts on world history outside of North America from 1450-present. Some articles are available full-text, but many are only abstracts.
Humanities Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collects articles on world history before 1450 in addition to sources on archaeology, art, classics, and folklore.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collects over 450 scholarly journals from the Arts, Humanities, and Sciences including many history journals. Has a large number of older journals going back to the 19th century.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project Muse collects many smaller interdisciplinary journals from university presses. It is particularly good for social, cultural, and interdisciplinary history, in addition to the history of gender & sexuality.

Ask a Librarian

History

Getting Full Text Articles

Need a little more help?

Finding Secondary Sources

Finding Books

Finding Articles