Research Guides: History: Background Research

Videos

Films on Demand Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos both on and off-campus. This collection includes more than 5,500 educational titles.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A film streaming service, offering over 25,000 streaming films from over 800 producers, including films from the Criterion Collection, PBS, BBC, Psychotherapy.net, New Day Films, and others.

Background Research

The resources on this page are intended to help you develop a basic understanding of topics before you start doing your research.

You will also find physical reference materials on the library's 3rd floor. For world history browse the D range; for US and Latin American history browse E and F ranges.

Electronic Encyclopedias & Reference Works

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected titles. Gale eBooks provides access to encyclopedias and other reference works covering education, law, world biography, business, economics, other cultures, public health, and more. Terms and Conditions
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of biographical information on more that 150,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains electronic editions of an expanding range of Oxford's scholarly reference titles.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE knowledge is a searchable collection of over 60 encyclopedias and reference works covering many subjects.

Ask a Librarian

History

Videos

Background Research

Electronic Encyclopedias & Reference Works