These are a great place to start. They can give you a basic biography and a few sources to consult. Except in special circumstances, you will not want to cite to these sources in your works cited for an academic paper.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Great Popular Song Recordings by This link opens in a new windowAASC contains over 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference program and includes 5 major encyclopedias; Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History,1619-1895 ; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America; and African American National Biography. This database also includes thematic timelines, primary source documents, and specially written commentaries on the personal and public histories of African Americans. See Terms and Conditions.
Your first source for both physical and and electronic books is the Cook Library Catalog. If you really want a book, but cannot find it at Towson, consider looking for it in the USMAI system or ordering it through inter-library loan using WorldCat. Chat or email a librarian if you are having trouble.
Like most academic libraries Cook library uses the Library of Congress cataloguing system. That means that books or scores are grouped together by topic. If you go to where these items are located on the shelf you will probably find other related books.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis collection contains a large selection of ebook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects, including arts and humanities, business, literature, social sciences, sciences, and technology. Books range in audience level from basic introductory texts to scholarly monographs. Titles are from a wide range of publishers, including Cambridge University Press, Harvard University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, Springer, Wiley, and more.
This link opens in a new window
