Research Guides: TSEM 102 Body Image Through History (Shute/ Gibson): Journals

Accessing Articles Later

If you find an article that you would like to come back to, do not copy and paste the URL from the top of your web browser. Database URLs change frequently as articles are added and removed, so the URL you copy may not work later. The safest option is always to find and download the PDF and save it in a safe place. However, you can also create a permalink, which is a stable URL that will work for you later.

Creating permalinks in Cook OneSearch or an EBSCO database is easy: on the article page, look under the Tools column on the right and click on the word permalink. Then, copy and paste the URL it creates into a safe place.

Other databases may not have a permalink icon for you. If you find an article and you don't see an option to save a permalink, you can use the Cook Library's Proxy Builder to create your stable URL. Copy and paste your URL into the first box, and a stable URL will be created for you in the second box.

Dance-Specific Journal Databases

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance represents the most comprehensive multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool available to theater students, educators and professionals. Since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Includes full text for 100 journals and more than 50 books.
Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The only collection of curated primary and secondary full-text materials to support informed performance, pedagogy, and scholarship in dance. Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference material that dissolve the distance between archive and scholar and draw dance students into the library.

Databases Including Dance with other Subjects

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of subjects including popular dance, dance and culture, and the entertainment industry.
Humanities Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals which look at performing arts as well as fine arts. Good for topics such as dance and art, or dance and literature.
Physical Education Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered: dance education, dance pedagogy, movement science, and dance injuries and prevention.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered: dance and movement science, dance therapy, and dance education.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered: gender and dance, women's roles, body image, culture and dance
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of fine and performing arts as well as other subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals from all academic disciplines. Remember to use Advanced Search to combine terms.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles about dance, culture, and other sociocultural topics related to the arts.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database which includes topics related to sociology, body image, and cultural studies.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media. Excellent resource for finding articles on topics reflected in popular media and film.
NOTE: If you encounter problems using this database, see the Minimum Browser Requirements for EBSCO Interfaces.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of scholarly and scientific journals that are available open access, without cost to users or their institutions. Users may read, download, copy, distribute, print, search or link to the full texts of these articles. The journal must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included in the database.
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, composers, musical genres, topics, and periods. Included with this package is access to several performing arts journals, including Dance Research Journal.

Ask a Librarian

TSEM 102 Body Image Through History (Shute/ Gibson)

Accessing Articles Later

Dance-Specific Journal Databases

Databases Including Dance with other Subjects