Research Guides: TSEM 102 Body Image Through History (Shute/ Gibson): Basics

Using Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias are a wonderful place to start. Except in unusual circumstances, you will not uses these entries as cited sources for your papers. You will use these to gather background information, construct a web of influence, or gather sources from the bibliographies listed.

Dance-Related Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes information about famous ballets, composers, and movements in performing arts which include music

Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century
Includes biographical info as well as works listings for concert music as well as pop music personalities.
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin (Editor)
Publication Date: Online edition
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by Valerie Steele
Articles on the history articles of clothing, specific types of costume, and dress throughout history.

Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia
Offers biographical essays, digitized content, photographs, and other special materials from the Library of Congress
Dance Heritage Coalition
Web site which includes essays, biographical information, and images chronicling the history of dance in America.

Dance Encyclopedias and Other Online Research Collections

International Encyclopedia of Dance
Includes entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
Encyclopedia of World Ballet
Profiles dancers, choreographers, classic ballets, and more. TU site license allows only one simultaneous user.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by Dennis Kennedy (Editor)
Covers dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance.

Ask a Librarian

TSEM 102 Body Image Through History (Shute/ Gibson)

Using Encyclopedias

Dance-Related Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Dance Encyclopedias and Other Online Research Collections