Research Guides: NURS 435: Nursing Research for Evidence-Based Practice: Article Databases

Looking for a Different Database?

Don't see the database you need? You may want to Browse the library's A-Z Database List or Ask a Librarian for help.

Need Help? Ask a Librarian!

If you need help now, try our chat service during open chat hours. You can also email, text, or call us directly. If you need help with a specific assignment or course, connect with the librarian for that subject.

Nursing Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
The Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature contains over 7.6 million records and coverage back to 1937.
Nursing Reference Center Plus
Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Health Source- Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 520 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 550 journals.

Resources for Interdisciplinary Research

Interdisciplinary Bibliographic Literature Databases

These databases are multidisciplinary with broad coverage. Use them to get started and for your main search.

PubMed
PubMed is maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). PubMed is a platform that contains over 32 million citations for biomedical literature. PubMed contains MEDLINE, PubMed Central, and additional resources. Records go back to 1946 with some earlier historical content. PubMed has a controlled vocabulary called Medical Subject Headings, or MeSH, to aid you with discovery of relevant literature.
Embase
Embase is a biomedical literature database that focuses on drugs and pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine, and basic science relevant to clinical medicine. The database contains journal articles, conference papers, abstracts and reports in biomedicine dating back to 1947. It includes over 44 million citations and over 3,000 journals not included in PubMed.
Medline
A citation index to all areas of medicine and the health sciences including clinical medicine, nursing, psychiatry, dentistry, pathology, toxicology, nutrition, health care planning and administration, veterinary science, medical education, and more. MEDLINE is the major component contained within PubMed, a separate platform. Access to MEDLINE provided by EBSCO.
Scopus
Scopus is a bibliographic literature database curated by subject matter experts. It contains over 75 million records, with coverage as far back as 1788. Subject areas include health sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
Academic Search Ultimate
Indexing and abstracts for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications. Multidisciplinary subject coverage, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, and ethnic studies.

Guideline Resources

Look for additional guidance in clinical practice guidelines and other guidelines, protocols, and recommendations.

ECRI Guidelines Trust
You'll need to register for a free account to view guidelines through ECRI Guidelines Trust.

Trip Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Recommendations
The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force is an independent panel of experts in primary care and prevention that systematically reviews the evidence of effectiveness and develops recommendations for clinical preventive services. These reviews are published as U.S. Preventive Services Task Force recommendations on the Task Force Web site and in a peer-reviewed journal.

Background and Reference

CQ Researcher
The CQ Researcher, published by CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Press, reports a current social issue each week. Reports are approximately 20 pages long and provide background information, important points to consider, charts and graphs, and a source list for further reading.
Gale eBooks
Selected titles. Gale eBooks provides access to encyclopedias and other reference works covering education, law, world biography, business, economics, other cultures, public health, and more. Terms and Conditions
Sage Knowledge
SAGE Knowledge is a searchable collection of thousands of selected ebooks and over 60 encyclopedias and reference works covering many subjects, including business and management, criminal justice, education, family studies, politics, and many others, and provides unlimited, site-wide use. Terms and Conditions.

Trade, Popular, or Other

Kaiser Family Foundation
KFF is an endowed, non-profit organization filling the need for trusted, independent information on national health issues. They are an information organization, and we accomplish our mission through policy analysis, polling and survey research, and journalism — the three core components of KFF which enable them to play a national role in health policy.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan research center that studies national and international issues including religion, health, politics, technology, journalism, economics, and communities.
ProPublica
ProPublica is an independent, nonprofit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest.

Accessing Articles Later

If you find an article that you would like to come back to, do not copy and paste the URL from the top of your web browser. In many databases, these URLs change frequently as articles are added and removed, so the URL you copy may not work later. The safest option is always to find and download the PDF and save it in a safe place. However, you can also create a permalink, which is a stable URL that will work for you later. Different databases will put the permalink icon in different places, but the icon usually looks like a small chain.

Some databases may not have a permalink icon for you. If you find an article and you don't see an option to save a permalink, you can use the Cook Library's Proxy Builder to create your stable URL. Copy and paste your URL into the first box, and a stable URL will be created for you in the second box.