Research Guides: TSEM 102 Notable Music Makers: Nina Simone (Rickelton/Thomas): Multimedia Resources

Audio

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
The Naxos Music Library has 87,000 cd tracks for online listening, including the complete Naxos classical, jazz, world-music and historical releases, plus the complete Marco Polo, Da Capo catalogues. In some cases they also have liner or program notes.
DRAM Online This link opens in a new window
An electronic resource of recordings, including CD audio, liner notes and essays from New World, Composers Recordings, and other labels. QuickTime 6.5.2 or later is the preferred player for DRAM streaming media.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online brings together over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers’ metadata, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context.
National Jukebox: Historical Recordings from the Library of Congress This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This online music repository from the Library of Congress features streaming versions of recordings made between 1901 and 1925 from Victor Talking Machine Company.

Streaming Videos

These streaming databases often require FlashPlayer to be installed on your computer.

Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
The largest online collection of classical music, operas, and ballets in the world, this database offers access to the best of classical music with over 1,800 programs (3,000 original works), including concerts and archived historical concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, artist portraits and educational programs, and master classes. See Terms and Conditions
Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes over 65,000 videos every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage.
Films on Demand Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group both on and off-campus. This collection includes more than 30,000 educational titles in the humanities & social sciences; science; business and economics; and health.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a film streaming service, offering over 12,000 streaming films from over 30 suppliers, with new films added daily. This database includes films from the Criterion Collection, PBS, Psychotherapy.net, New Day Films, and many others.
Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital Campus, from Swank Motion Pictures, allows you to legally stream theatrical motion pictures for educational purposes. The films available on the Digital Campus home page have been requested by TU faculty and licensed by the library for a single year. Please note that you must use the latest version of either Google Chrome or Firefox to stream from Digital Campus; Internet Explorer is NOT compatible with this platform.

Images

These are databases which have images that you can save and download. Some may require the use of FlashPlayer. To download, print, or save some images, you may need to create a free account in that database.

ARTstor Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research.
Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Includes access to more than two million images organized by subject matter from more than 50 collections. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use. Images can be downloaded, printed, saved in a "Lightbox" or virtual folder, or e-mailed as jpegs.
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic library containing the current photos and a selection of pictures from the print and negative library of The Associated Press.

Ask a Librarian

TSEM 102 Notable Music Makers: Nina Simone (Rickelton/Thomas)

Audio

Streaming Videos

Images