TSEM 102 Notable Music Makers: Nina Simone (Rickelton/Thomas)

A collection of 40 historical newspapers, including domestic and international publications. Domestic publications include historical black and Jewish newspapers. Dates of coverage for individual newspapers vary, but the collection overall covers 1791-2016.

NewsBank is an e-resource that consolidates current and archived information in fully searchable databases comprised of more than 5,000 newspaper titles, as well as newswires, Web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.

Essential for understanding Black history and culture, African Diaspora, 1860-Present allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection includes never-before digitized primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.

Anatomy of Protest in America delivers a unique opportunity to investigate through newspaper articles and editorials and books the people, places, events, organizations, and ideas, so important to Americans that they took action, exercised their rights, and stood up to protest. From colonial exploitation and revolution to slavery and abolition, to political rights and suffrage, and economic and industrial disturbances, this series will guide the user through almost 225 years of American protest history in two convenient parts. As debates rage over the future of America and the country’s relationship to its past, there is no better time to examine the wealth of content in Anatomy of Protest in America.

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars, researchers, and students at the college and university level. Towson University has access to the following archives:
o Quest for Labor Equality in Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union, 1965-1979
o SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting of Occupied Countries and Assets in Neutral Countries
o We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961
o Holocaust and Records of Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes
o James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
o U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: The Little Rock Integration Crisis, 1957-1958

Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other fugitive material. 

Primary source materials organized into the following subject modules: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; American Indians and the American West; American Politics and Society; International Relations and Military Conflicts; Women's Studies; and Workers and Labor Unions.

Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.

Primary source materials organized into the following subject modules: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; American Indians and the American West; American Politics and Society; International Relations and Military Conflicts; Women's Studies; and Workers and Labor Unions.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history generally and at the same time make those insights accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 124 document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.Those subscribing to this collection can access the online version of Notable American Women and the database on Commissions on the Status of Women.

Includes over 300,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases.