Find Articles - TSEM 102: Current Issues in Education: Excitement and Challenge of Extreme Teaching - Education in the Environment (McClure)

Miriam DesHarnais

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

mdesharnais@towson.edu

410.704.4432

Subjects: Education, Elementary Education, Reading Education, Secondary and Middle School Education

Start here

Cook OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Find books, articles, media, government information, and other library resources all in one place. Search what Towson owns as well as resources at other USMAI Libraries.

Find Books, Magazine & Journal Articles

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications. Multidisciplinary subject coverage, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, and ethnic studies.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
This resource indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, and offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, this database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing, including areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher, published by CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Press, reports a current social issue each week. Reports are approximately 20 pages long and provide background information, important points to consider, charts and graphs, and a source list for further reading.
Environmental Issues Online This link opens in a new window
Brings together multimedia materials (text, archival, primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. The comprehensive database is curated around specific environmental issues and events from the 20th and 21st centuries, enabling students to build a critical understanding of the relationship between people and the environment. Reflecting the multidisciplinary nature of the field of Environmental Studies, content is drawn from discipline perspectives including: Anthropology, Diplomacy, Ecology, Economics, Geography, History, Law, Medicine, Politics & Policy, Sociology, and Photography
Environmental Issues Online - Videos Only This link opens in a new window
An inherently multidisciplinary field, where solutions to real-world issues lie at the intersections of the social sciences, the biological and earth sciences, the humanities, legal studies, and policy. This database uses text, archival primary sources, and video to address major past and ongoing environmental issues—water challenges, air pollution, biodiversity, climate change, energy issues, consumption and waste issues, and land issues—in comparative, historical, global, and interdisciplinary ways
JoVE Science Education Unlimited This link opens in a new window
A video library dedicated to teaching the practice and theory of scientific experiments through engaging and easy-to-understand visual demonstrations. Covers the following areas: Biology, Physics, Engineering, Chemistry, Clinical Skills, Environmental Sciences, Psychology.
GeoRef (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to nearly 2 million records about geology and earth sciences. Indexed content includes journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses.
BBC Landmark Video Collection This link opens in a new window
From the depths of the oceans to the Antarctic ice sheet, the BBC Landmark Video Collection is a groundbreaking, HD view into our natural world. Through cutting edge cinematic techniques and thousands of days in the field with never-before seen wildlife, you can now experience breathtaking natural events in all their splendor.

Find Current Events

News & Newspapers, Current This link opens in a new window
Search for citations, abstracts, and full-text for the Baltimore Sun (1990-present), Christian Science Monitor (1980-present), New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), and Washington Post (1987-present). ProQuest also provides digitized newspaper versions of the New York Times (1980-2008), Wall Street Journal (selected issues from 1982-2002), and Washington Post (selected issues from 1988-2008) with high-resolution facsimile images of the print editions.
Newsbank Access World News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank is an e-resource that consolidates current and archived information in fully searchable databases comprised of more than 5,000 newspaper titles, as well as newswires, Web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.

Ask a Librarian

TSEM 102: Current Issues in Education: Excitement and Challenge of Extreme Teaching - Education in the Environment (McClure)

Miriam DesHarnais

Start here

Find Books, Magazine & Journal Articles

Find Current Events