Research Guides: TSEM102: Limits of Reason (Jankowiak): Scholarly Journals

Open-Access Journal Databases

BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) Multidisciplinary and international database of academic articles.
CORE (COnnecting REpositories) Aggregator of open access repositories in all disciplines, from the Knowledge Media Institute.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Comprehensive searchable collection of open-access journals from around the world.

Boolean Logical Operators: Because no one can read it all...

Image:Venn A intersect B.svg - from the Schools Wikipedia

AND (selects): galaxies AND fiction

OR (combines): Planck OR Einstein

NOT (excludes): Metaphysics NOT Aristotle

Parentheses (groups, as in Math): Cosmology AND (Planck OR Einstein)

Truncation (Add asterisk): geol* for geology, geological.

Journal Databases: Where the Current Information Is...

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Indexing and abstracts for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications. Multidisciplinary subject coverage, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, and ethnic studies.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window Provides abstracts and indexing for articles, essays, and book reviews in over 1550 journals and multi-author works dealing with religious and theological scholarship. International in scope and language coverage. Covers all types of religions.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Digital image archive of over 450 core scholarly journals in JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV collections. Coverage begins with the first volume and issue of the title. Articles contain full text plus graphics, charts, tables etc.
- This link opens in a new window
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window Bibliographic database with author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The database covers research published since 1940 within the fifteen fields of philosophy, and includes nearly 570 journals from 43 countries.
- This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window The library subscribes to the full-text of the complete collection of journals available from SpringerLink, totaling over 2000 journals.
- This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window PsycARTICLES is an online database covering general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. Over 25,000 full-text articles are available from 42 journals published by American Psychological Association, Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The APA journals offer full-text articles from 1988 to the present with earlier years currently in production.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect includes over 2,500 full text journals and 7,500 eBooks covering all aspects of science - including life sciences, physical sciences and social sciences. Terms and Conditions.
- This link opens in a new window

Guidance Video

Finding Articles Using Cook OneSearch
This short video will show you how to find articles using Cook OneSearch.
Refine Database Search Results
Techniques and strategies for getting the best results from academic databases.
Popular, Scholarly, Trade: What's the Difference?
Popular, Scholarly, and Trade Publication articles offer different kinds of valuable information. This short video will help get the best use of each.

Ask a Librarian

TSEM102: Limits of Reason (Jankowiak)

Open-Access Journal Databases

Boolean Logical Operators: Because no one can read it all...

Journal Databases: Where the Current Information Is...

Guidance Video