Research Guides: English: English Literature

Background Information

English Author Dictionaries (The XVIth - the XXIst Cc.) by Olga Karpova
ISBN: 9781443826594
Publication Date: 2011-02-01
"This book is devoted to the description of typical trends in development, formation and the present state of English Author Lexicography"
The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature by David Scott Kastan (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195169218
Publication Date: 2006-03-03
"The Encyclopedia provides comprehensive coverage of literature from the Abbey Theatre to Israel Zangwill, covering the entire history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin)."--USMAI catalog.

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the English Civil War. This collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Terms and conditions
Middle English Compendium This link opens in a new window
Offers easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources.

Journals A-Z
Search for journals under the heading Language & Literature in the drop down list. You can limit those results to specific literary genres and geographical regions.

Royal Shakespeare Company Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
High-definition, surround-sound recordings of William Shakespeare’s plays featuring the world’s best Shakespearean actors and directors. The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection brings The Tempest, King Lear, Hamlet and other famous performances filmed at the Royal Shakespeare Company’s Stratford-upon-Avon theater to classrooms around the world.

Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online: Premium includes over 65,000 videos every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a film streaming service, offering over 12,000 streaming films from over 30 suppliers, with new films added daily. This database includes films from the Criterion Collection, PBS, Psychotherapy.net, New Day Films, and many others.