Research Guides: English: Literary Criticism

Background Information

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism by Michael Groden (Editor); Martin Kreiswirth (Editor); Imre Szeman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780801880100
Publication Date: 2004-12-10
"A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods...Contains articles from the 1st ed. (1994) and 2nd ed. (2005) of the print guide, with annual updates."--USMAI catalog.
Encyclopedia of Literature and Criticism by Martin Coyle (Editor); Peter Garside (Editor); Malcolm Kelsall (Editor); John Peck (Editor)
ISBN: 9781134977093
Publication Date: 2002-09-11
" In ninety essays by leading international critics and scholars, the volume covers both traditional topics such as literature and history, poetry, drama and the novel, and also newer topics such as the production and reception of literature."

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for articles using the search feature or specific journals by browsing by Subjects, including Language & Literature, Classical Studies, and Philosophy. You can also browse journals by area.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature Criticism provides online access to three literary reference series licensed by Cook Library: Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and Short Story Criticism.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides newly published and archived articles from all over the world covering interdisciplinary topics of arts and culture, social sciences, and digital humanities.

Dissertations and Theses: Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Created with the generous support of the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world.