Research Guides: Clinical Psychology: Review the Literature

Getting Full Text Articles

If you do not see a full text article link look for the button in order to:

Access online full text (when available)
See if the journal is available in print (library catalog)
Request a pdf of the article if full text is not available online (Interlibrary loan)

If you have the citation for the article you are trying to access, search the Journal List to check if the library subscribes to your specific article.

Finding Articles from a Citation

Use the "Journal List" to find a specific journal or article

In the journal list, search for the name of the journal
Date ranges show the time span the journal is available in a particular location (e.g., a specific database or on the shelf at the library)

The "Journal List" is also available from the library's homepage.

Need Help?

Cook Library has experienced librarians and library assistants ready to help, no matter where you are!

chat loading...

Text message: 410-774-1398

You can also:

Literature Review

Reviewing the literature may require using many different search tools to discover what information is available in your research area.

Learn more about writing a literature review and start your research using one of the tools on this page.

Looking for search tips related to evidence-based practice?

Evidence Searching for Evidence-based Psychology Practice
This article by Falzon, Davidson, and Bruns describes search techniques using the PICO evidence-based practice framework. (Requires TU log-in)

Psychology

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The largest database devoted to peer-reviewed literature in psychology, mental health, and behavioral sciences.
For help searching PsycINFO, check out this Quick Reference Guide (PDF) from APA or sign up for free webinar training.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, and mental processes as well as observational & experimental methods

Annual Review of Clinical Psychology
This journal reviews significant develops in clinical psychology and psychiatry. Full-text access is restricted to volumes 5+ years old; request newer articles through interlibrary loan.

Health

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature, including mental health.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database contains articles related to health care, including mental health.
PTSD Pubs This link opens in a new window
Citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder and other mental-health related traumatic events. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

If the DOI does not link you to full text, and if there isn't a ”FindIt" button, use the Journal List to determine if the article is available full text.

Multidisciplinary

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar allows you to search for scholarly literature from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, repositories and universities. Use Google Scholar to find journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, technical reports and preprints on the web.

Make sure to list Towson University in your "Library Links" if you are a registered Google user. Sign into Google Scholar with your Google account, then visit "Settings" -> "Library Links" and search for Towson University.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus may be used to find articles in areas related to mental health, however its power comes in citation tracking and journal analysis tools.

Looking for a Different Database?

Don't see the database you need? You may want to Browse the library's A-Z Database List or Ask a Librarian for help.