Research Guides: Art Education: Image Resources

You may not be able to fit in a visit to the Rijksmuseum to see the Vermeer you're writing about in person, so finding high quality images online is the next best thing. Even better? Many of these resources provide options to download and use images for your projects and assignments.

ARTstor Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world. The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more.
Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Includes access to more than two million images organized by subject matter from more than 50 collections, such as the National Portrait Gallery of London, the National Geographic Society, and others. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use, and may be used in student projects and reports; school Web sites; school newsletters; and other educational uses. Images can be downloaded, printed, saved in a "Lightbox" or virtual folder, or e-mailed as jpegs.

Museum Collections

Many public and private institutions are now making digital content available online.

Rijksmuseum
Explore more than 125,000 works of art; create files of digital images; produce products using images from the collection.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Explore more than 400,000 high-resolution images from The Metropolitan Museum of Art. The images are public domain works in the Museum’s world-renowned collection and may be downloaded directly from the Museum’s website for non-commercial use.
National Gallery of Art
Explore thousands of the most significant works of art from the Renaissance to the present day. Our growing collection includes European and American masterpieces in every medium. Browse the collection and make connections between the objects you know and newly discovered gems.
Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA)
The BMA’s internationally renowned collection of 95,000 objects encompasses more than 1,000 works by Henri Matisse anchored by the famed Cone Collection of modern art, as well as one of the nation’s finest holdings of prints, drawings, and photographs. The galleries showcase an exceptional collection of art from Africa; important works by established and emerging contemporary artists; outstanding European and American paintings, sculpture, and decorative arts; ancient Antioch mosaics; and exquisite textiles from around the world.
The Walters Art Museum
The Walters Art Museum in Baltimore, Maryland is internationally renowned for its collection of art. The collection presents an overview of world art from pre-dynastic Egypt to 20th-century Europe, and counts among its many treasures Greek sculpture and Roman sarcophagi; medieval ivories and Old Master paintings; Art Nouveau jewelry and 19th-century European and American masterpieces.
Museum of Modern Art
Search MoMa's collection online and read gallery labels, hear audio clips and more.
Google Arts & Culture
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.

Ask a Librarian

Art Education

You may not be able to fit in a visit to the Rijksmuseum to see the Vermeer you're writing about in person, so finding high quality images online is the next best thing. Even better? Many of these resources provide options to download and use images for your projects and assignments.

Museum Collections

Many public and private institutions are now making digital content available online.