Art History

If you're not sure where to start, start here. Access includes:
• The Grove Dictionary of Art and several Oxford reference sources on art and architecture. The Grove Dictionary of Art is the most complete encyclopedia of art available in English, featuring nearly 50,000 articles on a variety of topics including art movements, artists’ biographies, and countries. Articles are signed, include brief bibliographies, and images. Images are searchable and made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries and arts organizations
• The Benezit Dictionary of Artists, a comprehensive and definitive resource for artists’ biographies, published since 1911. It includes 149,000 biographies as well as auction records, exhibition histories, and over 11,000 images of artists’ signatures and stamps of sale
• The Oxford Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
• The Oxford Companion to Western Art
• The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms

A comprehensive database of biographical information on more that 150,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

The Getty now provides free access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA). The databases can be searched together or separately. Searched together, they include article citations from over 1,200 journals covering material published between 1975 and 2007.

This database provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship on European art from late antiquity to the present; American art from the colonial era to the present; and global art since 1945, including the visual arts in all media. Covers 500 core journals plus monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues.