Research Guides: Art History: Art Journals, Databases & Newspapers

Cook Library maintains subscriptions to many art and architecture-related databases for you to use and explore. Yes, you can find scholarly articles by searching online, but you will have to sift through a lot of information that is not peer-reviewed to find something. Since databases hold many scholarly journal titles, they can take much of the guesswork out of your search.

The full list of art and art history-related databases can be found here. Need information outside of traditional art information locations? See our full list of databases and narrow it down to what you need, like psychology or education.

You can also search by a specific journal or browse journals by subject.

Art and Architecture Archive‎ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text archive of magazines in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late 19th century to the 21stt. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. The magazines are scanned from cover-to-cover and presented as full-color page images.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications. Multidisciplinary subject coverage, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, and ethnic studies.
Art Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An abstracted index to over 300 titles in art and art history, photography, sculpture, architecture, graphic design, film and television, museum studies, interior design, and related fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital image archive of over 450 core scholarly journals in JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV collections. Coverage begins with the first volume and issue of the title. Articles contain full text plus graphics, charts, tables etc.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository which provides long-term preservation and access services for content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. The repository includes digitized and fully searchable online copies of public domain and in-copyright books and other publications.
Newsbank Access World News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank is an e-resource that consolidates current and archived information in fully searchable databases comprised of more than 5,000 newspaper titles, as well as newswires, Web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.
News & Newspapers, Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for citations, abstracts, and full-text for the Baltimore Sun (1990-present), Christian Science Monitor (1980-present), New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), and Washington Post (1987-present). ProQuest also provides digitized newspaper versions of the New York Times (1980-2008), Wall Street Journal (selected issues from 1982-2002), and Washington Post (selected issues from 1988-2008) with high-resolution facsimile images of the print editions.
Baltimore Sun: Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes complete issues of The Baltimore Sun, cover to cover from 1837 to 1997. Search by keyword, more than 20 article types, date ranges, specific dates, author, and more. View news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more for added context. Print and download articles and images in PDF format. More recent years are available through the Baltimore Sun and News & Newspapers, Recent databases.

The full list of art and art history related databases can be found here.

Dissertations and Theses: Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

Ask a Librarian

Art History

The full list of art and art history-related databases can be found here. Need information outside of traditional art information locations? See our full list of databases and narrow it down to what you need, like psychology or education.

The full list of art and art history related databases can be found here.